The University of Houston Magazine

Quick Takes

President Renu Khator has been appointed to the nine-member board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, serving an unexpired portion of a three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2011. She is eligible for reappointment to a full term after that ... The UH Law Center ranked 22nd nationally for the total number of law degrees conferred on Hispanic students in 2009, according to the Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education publication ... Noted peace activist Mient Jan Faber, who held the position of secretary general of the Interchurch Peace Council in the Hague for 30 years, recently served as a guest faculty member of the Honors College. Faber, a professor at Amsterdam’s Free University, taught a course called “Wars and the Transformation of the Security Fabric” ... UH has earned a B+ on the 2011 College Sustainability Report Card a national ranking of schools’ performance and practices in several sustainability related fields. While a number of other Texas schools matched UH’s B+ ranking, no other school scored higher. UH scored a B on the previous year’s report … First-year Graduate College of Social Work students Maria Cano and Yuliana Medina received the Hogg Foundation for Mental Health Bilingual Scholarship. The award covers full tuition and fees for new bilingual students entering graduate social work programs … UH students topped a number of nationally competitive schools to win the AP Top 25 Gowalla Check-in Challenge. The victory resulted in a $10,000 scholarship contribution to the university’s Cougar Community TierOne Endowment fund, courtesy of Gowalla.

Case Keenum

Quarterback Case Keenum, who suffered a season-ending knee injury in September 2010, has been granted a sixth year of eligibility by the NCAA, based on medical hardship, and will rejoin the Cougars football team this fall. Keenum led the nation in passing offense and total offense in 2009.


Rigoberto Advincula and Mamie Moy (M.S. ’52), chemistry professors, have received one of their field’s highest honors with their election into the 2010 class of American Chemical Society fellows. The fellows program recognizes outstanding contributions to science and the chemistry profession.

Alice Cepeda, sociology professor and Center for Drug and Social Policy Research associate director, has been awarded the National Award of Excellence in Research by a New Investigator from the National Hispanic Science Network on Drug Abuse. The award is presented for outstanding research and/or publication in the field of drug abuse in the Hispanic community.

Matthew DurstMatthew Dirst, associate professor of musicology, and his ensemble Ars Lyrica Houston has received a 2010 Grammy nomination for Best Opera Recording.

Eunsook Kwon, Industrial Design director of the undergraduate program at UH’s Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture, has been named one of DesignIntelligence’s “Most Admired Educators.”

Stuart Long, professor of electrical and computer engineering and interim vice president for Research, has been named a life fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Roberta Nutt, visiting professor and College of Education’s counseling psychology program training director, has been presented with the Texas Psychological Association 2010 Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award.

Michael Olivas, William B. Bates Distinguished Chair in Law and UH Law Center’s Institute for Higher Education Law and Governance director, has been elected president of the Association of American Law Schools for 2011.

Tyler Priest, global studies director at the C.T. Bauer College of Business, has been honored by the U.S. Department of Interior with a 2010 “Partners in Conservation Award” for his work on the six-volume study, History of the Offshore Oil and Gas Industry in Southern Louisiana.

Jerry Rogers, professor of civil engineering, served as one of three editors of the American Society of Civil Engineers’ special symposium proceedings to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Hoover Dam project.

Raphael Rubenstein and Sandra Zalman, art professors, have been recognized by the Creative Capital-Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant Program. The program supports writing efforts focused on contemporary arts.

Venkat Selvamanickam (M.S. ’88, Ph.D. ’92), M.D. Anderson Chair Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of the Applied Research Hub of the Texas Center for Superconductivity at the University of Houston, has been named one of the recipients of the 2010 R&D 100 award. The award, sponsored by Research and Development Magazine, recognizes the 100 most technologically significant new products of 2010.

Earl Smith III (’72, M.S. ’75, Ph.D ’78), Greeman-Petty Professor in Vision Development and College of Optometry dean, has received the 2010 Charles F. Prentice Medal Award from the American Academy of Optometry. The award honors an outstanding scientist who has contributed significantly to the advancement of knowledge through research in the visual sciences.

James Thurmond (Ph.D. ’07), Master of Public Administration Program director, has received the Terrell Blodgett Academician Award from the Texas City Management Association. The award is given in recognition of significant contributions to the formal education of students pursuing careers in local government.

Arthur Weglein, Margaret S. and Robert E. Sheriff Faculty Endowed Chair in Applied Seismology, has received the Reginald Fessenden Award from the Society of Exploration Geophysicists. The award is given to someone who made a specific technical contribution to exploration geophysics.

Richard C. Willson, chemical and biomolecular engineering and biochemical and biophysical sciences professor, has been named a 2010 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.

Faculty Kudos banner