Skip to main content


Our faculty are professionals who bring an array of experience including nationally and internationally produced work. They are dedicated to educating the next generation of theatre and dance practitioners.

Scholars and artists, including Tony-nominated designer Kevin Rigdon, LORT dramaturg Dr. Robert Shimko, and award-winning choreographer Karen Stokes, add to the dynamic supportive environment.

In addition, our program is supported by a highly qualified and talented group of graduate assistants from across the United States.

Dr. Robert Shimko Director of the School of Theatre & Dance
Karen Stokes  Director of Dance Division
Jack Young Head of MFA Acting
Kevin Rigdon Head of MFA Design & Technology

Performance Area

Carolyn Houston Boone Associate Professor, Acting

Jessica Ferrarone (Head of Summer MA for Theatre Educators), Instructional Assistant Professor, Acting

Jim Johnson  Professor, Voice & Accents

Stuart Ostrow  Distinguished Professor of Musical Theatre

Adam Noble  Head of BFA Acting, Associate Professor, Acting & Movement, UH Armory Supervisor

Melissa Noble  Instructional Assistant Professor, Theatre and Dance

Rosie Ward  Assistant Professor, Voice & Speech

Jack Young  (Head of MFA Acting) Professor, Acting

Production and Design Area

Kevin Rigdon  (Head of Graduate Design) Professor, Scenic and Lighting Design

Charles Gary Cooper  Assistant Professor of Theatre Education

Steven W. Wallace  Professor, Production & Design

Rachel R. Bush  Assistant Professor, Stage Management

Nicholas Jackson  Assistant Professor, Technical Direction

Casey Kearns  Assistant Professor, Production & Design

Barbara Niederer  Assistant Professor, Costume Technology

Claremarie Verheyen  Associate Professor, Makeup and Costume History

Paige Willson  Assistant Professor, Costume Design and Technology

Dance Division

Karen Stokes  Director of Dance Division, Professor

John Beasant III  Assistant Professor, Dance

Teresa Lynn Chapman  Associate Professor, Dance

Rebecca B. Valls  Associate Professor, Dance

Toni Valle  Professor of Practice, Dance


Dr. Robert Shimko  Director of the School of Theatre & Dance, Head of B.F.A. Playwriting/Dramaturgy

Theresa Rebeck  Distinguished Professor of Playwriting, Lyndall Finley Wortham Chair in the Performing Arts

Adjunct Faculty

Jacqueline Anne Bobet  Adjunct Faculty, Dance

Riolama Lorenzo-Lasa  Adjunct Faculty, Dance

Melissa Noble  Instructional Assistant Professor, Theatre and Dance

Firat Kazbek Özsoy  Adjunct Faculty, Dance

Leslie Scates  Adjunct Faculty, Dance

Jhon Stronks  Adjunct Faculty, Dance

Sophia L. Torres  Adjunct Faculty, Dance

Jon L. Egging  Adjunct Faculty

Courtney Young  Adjunct Faculty

Chris Hutchison  Adjunct Faculty

Elizabeth Bunch  Adjunct Faculty

Shelley Calene-Black  Adjunct Faculty

Faculty Emeritus

Joanna Friesen  Professor Emeritus Dance