UNIVERSITY of HOUSTON

UNDERGRADUATE COMMITTEE OF THE FACULTY SENATE

Minutes for March 31, 2021 Virtual Zoom Meeting 3pm – 5pm

Members Present: Mara Affre, Arkadiusz Czader, Nikhil Celly, Jeronimo Cortina, Bret Detillier, Medhat El Nahas, Rebecca Forrest, Mark Goldberg, Kristen Hassett, Michelle Ivey, Briget Jans, Heidi Kennedy, Margaret Kidd, Julia Kleinheider, Shonnita Leslie, Teri Longacre, Holley Love, Dan Maxwell, Ana Medrano, Michael Murray, Melissa Pierson, Nouhad Rizk, Funda Sahin, David Shattuck, Brent Spraggins, Chris Taylor, Amber Thompson, Giulia Toti, Chad Wayne, Carrie Young, Zhiwen Xiao, Lori Selzer, Vallabh Das, Timothy Koozin, Pattie Schrader, Scott Sawyer, Ruxandra Boul, Ziad Qureshi, Mardell Maxwell, Veronica Douglas, Tali Morgulis, Dustin Gish, Rachel Honora, Elizabeth Simas, Karina Acuna, Jaana Porra, Patrick Lukingbeal, Todd Romero

Members Absent: Zachary Fulce, Daniel Chang, Benjamin Tamber-Rosenau, Jinny Sisson, Jenna Tucker

Guest Present: Katherine Frazier, Donna Pattison

I. Call to Order - The Committee was called to order by David Shattuck, UC Chair, at 3:02 pm

II. Welcome & Announcements

- a. Faculty Senate President, Jeronimo Cortina
- b. Bylaws have been approved by the Faculty Governance Committee and the Faculty Senate Executive Committee
- c. UC SharePoint site now open for proposal submission for 2022-2023 catalog implementation
- d. Congratulations to the Faculty Teaching Award Recipients:
 - a. Anna Medrano
 - b. Nouhad Rizk
 - c. Rebecca Forrest
 - d. Michael Murray

III. Administrative Representatives' Report(s)

a. Briget Jans - Financial Aid

IV. Subcommittee Reports

a. Forrest Subcommittee - CLASS = COMM / TECH/ BUS (Rebecca Forrest, presented and submitted a report)

The following proposals were presented, discussed and **approved** by UC in vote:

UC 2276 21S BBA-MPP Accelerated Pathway College of Business

The following proposal was discussed and not voted on:

UC 2058 20F Readmission policy revision University Offices - DSAES -

Admissions

The following proposal was not discussed or presented for vote:

UC 2086 20F

BBA - Applying for Readmission Criteria

College of Business

- b. Ivey Subcommittee TECH / HOBBY / HON / NSM / CLASS = SOC (Michelle Ivey, no report presented or submitted)
- c. Love Subcommittee CCS / ECON / NSM / BUS / HON, EDU (Holley Love, presented and submitted a report)

The following proposals were presented, discussed and **tabled** for more information per UC recommendation:

UC 2206 20F

NSM Computer Policy

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

- d. **Medrano Subcommittee BUS / CLASS = ENG, HHP, HS, HIS** (Anna Medrano, no report presented or submitted)
- e. Thompson Subcommittee MCL / PS / ENGI / HRM / COA / CLASS = MCL, PS, WGS / TECH (Amber Thompson, no report presented or submitted)

V. Old Business

- a. Representation on the UC for the 2021 elections Nominations have been made, some of which have been accepted and elections are in process.
 - i. (1) Business
 - ii. (1) CLASS
 - iii. (1) Nursing
 - iv. (1) Education
 - v. (2) NSM
- b. Nominating Committee for Chair Elect
 - i. Kristen Hassett
 - ii. Jaana Porra
 - iii. Lori Selzer
 - iv. Chad Wayne

VI. New Business

a) TCCNS Adoptions - Approved

UC 2280 21S

TCCNS Adoptions and Edits (5th memo)

University Offices – Office of the Provost – Student Success

VII. Resources

NOTE: All meetings are held in room 306 (Faculty Senate Office), M.D. Anderson Library unless, otherwise noted.

a. Scheduled meetings for 2020-2021:

Fall 2020: August 26 (orientation meeting), September 30, October 28, November 11, *November 18 (special meeting), December 9 (as needed)

Spring 2021: January 27, *February 3 (special meeting), *February 23 (special meeting), February 24, March 31, April 28, May 12 (as needed)

b. Helpful Websites:

- Undergraduate Committee: www.uh.edu/undergraduate-committee/
- Current (2020-2021) Undergraduate Catalog: http://publications.uh.edu/index.php?catoid=36
- UH Core Curriculum section: www.uh.edu/academics/corecurriculum/

c. E-mail Listservs:

- i. UC General Membership: <u>UNDERGRAD-COMMITTEE@LISTSERV.UH.EDU</u>
- ii. UC Executive Committee: <u>UC-EXEC@LISTSERV.UH.EDU</u>
- iii. UC Subcommittees:
 - FORREST-SUBCOMMITTEE@LISTSERV.UH.EDU
 - IVEY-SUBCOMMITTEE@LISTSERV.UH.EDU
 - LOVE-SUBCOMMITTEE@LISTSERV.UH.EDU
 - MEDRANO-SUBCOMMITTEE@LISTSERV.UH.EDU
 - THOMPSON-SUBCOMMITTEE@LISTSERV.UH.EDU
- VIII. **Meeting Adjournment** at 4:30 p.m.