Program Directors - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Program Directors

At the University of Houston College of Education, the directors of our degree programs work tirelessly to support students and to keep our offerings grounded in research and relevant to the community. Have questions about our programs? Please reach out!

Note: If you are considering applying to one of our graduate programs, please first visit our FAQ webpage and email any additional questions to our recruitment office at coeinfo@uh.edu. If you are interested in one of our undergraduate programs or minors, please email general questions first to coecomm@uh.edu.

Jump to a Specific Program

Curriculum & Instruction

B.S. in Teaching and Learning
Amber Thompson
ammeuth@uh.edu

Minor in Education
Amber Thompson
ammeuth@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction
Samuel Brower
srbrower@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction — Art Education
Sheng Kuan Chung
skchung@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction — Bilingual/ESL Education
Jie Zhang
jzhang64@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction — Early Childhood Education
Nicole Andrews
nlandrews@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction — Elementary Education
Samuel Brower
srbrower@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction — Health Science Education
Robert Hausmann
rchausmann@uh.edu 

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction — Learning, Design & Technology
Susie Gronseth
slgronseth@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction — Mathematics Education
Jennifer Chauvot
jchauvot@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction — Reading, Language Arts and Literature Education
Laveria Hutchison
lhutchison@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction — Science Education
Sissy Wong
sissywong@uh.edu  

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction — Social Education/Social Studies
Cameron White
cswhite@uh.edu 

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction — STEM Education
Jennifer Chauvot
jchauvot@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction — Teaching and Learning
Jerome Freiberg
hjfreiberg@uh.edu 

Ed.D. in Professional Leadership — Health Science Education
Robert Hausmann
rchausmann@uh.edu 

Ed.D. in Professional Leadership — Literacy Education
Laveria Hutchison
lhutchison@uh.edu

Ed.D. in Professional Leadership — Mathematics Education
(not currently accepting applications)
Justin Burris
jburris2@uh.edu 

Ed.D. in Professional Leadership — Social Studies/Social Education
(not currently accepting applications)
Cameron White
cswhite@uh.edu 

Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction
Sissy Wong
sissywong@uh.edu  

Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction — Art Education
Sheng Kuan Chung
skchung@uh.edu

Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction — Bilingual/ESL Education
Jie Zhang
jzhang64@uh.edu

Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction — Early Childhood Education
Nicole Andrews
nlandrews@uh.edu

Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction — Learning, Design & Technology
Sara McNeil
smcneil@uh.edu

Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction — Mathematics Education
Jennifer Chauvot
jchauvot@uh.edu

Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction — Reading, Language Arts and Literature Education
Laveria Hutchison
lhutchison@uh.edu

Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction — Science Education
Sissy Wong
sissywong@uh.edu  

Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction — Social Education
Cameron White
cswhite@uh.edu

Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction — Teaching and Learning
Jerome Freiberg
hjfreiberg@uh.edu  

Certificate in Designing and Developing Educational Graphics
(not currently accepting applications)
Susie Gronseth
slgronseth@uh.edu

Certificate in Integrating Innovative Technologies in Health Science Education
Robert Hausmann
rchausmann@uh.edu 

Certificate in Designing and Developing Educational Multimedia
Susie Gronseth
slgronseth@uh.edu

Certificate in Online Teaching and Learning
Susie Gronseth
slgronseth@uh.edu

Educational Leadership & Policy Studies

Minor in Asian American Studies
Yali Zou
yzou@uh.edu

Minor in Special Populations
Kristen Hassett
khassett@uh.edu 

M.Ed. in Administration and Supervision
Keith Butcher
kbutcher3@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Higher Education
Tiffany J. Davis
tdavis9@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Special Populations
Kristen Hassett
khassett@uh.edu 

Ed.D. in Professional Leadership — K-12
Bradley Davis
bdavis20@central.uh.edu

Ed.D. in Professional Leadership — Special Populations
Jacqueline Hawkins
jhawkins@uh.edu 

Ph.D. in Higher Education Leadership and Policy Studies
Elsa Gonzalez
egonzalez60@uh.edu

Certificate in Disability Support
Kristen Hassett
khassett@uh.edu 

Educational Diagnostician Certification
Kristen Hassett
khassett@uh.edu 

Principal (K-12) Certification
Keith Butcher
kbutcher3@uh.edu

Psychological, Health, & Learning Sciences

B.S. in Health
Kelli Drenner
kldrenner@uh.edu

B.S./B.A. in Human Development and Family Studies
Toya Conston
troberts3@uh.edu

Minor in Health
Kelli Drenner
kldrenner@uh.edu

Minor in Human Development and Family Studies
Toya Conston
troberts3@uh.edu

M.Ed. in Counseling
Rachael Whitaker
rwhitaker3@uh.edu

Ph.D. in Counseling Psychology
Blake Allan
ballan@uh.edu

Ph.D. in Measurement, Quantitative Methods and Learning Sciences
Margit Wiesner
mfwiesner@uh.edu

Ph.D. in School Psychology
Milena Keller Margulis
mamargulis@uh.edu