Skip to main content

Department Chair and Center Director Appointments

Academic Departments & Schools Chair Email
African American Studies Linda Reed (Interim) lreed@uh.edu
Communication Sciences and Disorders Margaret Blake mtblake2@central.uh.edu
Comparative Cultural Studies Nicholas De Genova npdegeno@central.uh.edu
Economics Dietrich Vollrath devollra@central.uh.edu
English Ann Christensen achrist@central.uh.edu
Health & Human Performance Craig Johnston cajohnston4@uh.edu
Hispanic Studies María Elena Soliño msolino@central.uh.edu
History Nancy Beck Young nyoung2@uh.edu
Jack J. Valenti School of Communications Jennifer Vardeman jvardema@central.uh.edu
Modern and Classical Languages Emran El-Badawi eelbadaw@central.uh.edu
Philosophy David K. Phillips phila@central.uh.edu
Political Science Jeffrey Church jchurch@central.uh.edu
Psychology Chip Knee knee@central.uh.edu
Sociology Tracy Xavia Karner txkarner@uh.edu
Academic Programs & Studies Director Email
Air Force ROTC Lt. Col. Matthew Manning  mmannin3@central.uh.edu
Military Science Maj. Hung J. Ta  hta5@central.uh.edu
Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies Elizabeth Gregory egregory@uh.edu
Centers Director Email
Center for Mexican American Studies Pamela Quiroz paquiroz@central.uh.edu
Center for Public History Monica Perales mperale2@central.uh.edu