Skip to main content

Faculty Affiliates

Alan J. Dettlaff, Dean of the Graduate College of Social Work
ajdettlaff@uh.edu
3511 Cullen Boulevard, Social Work Building Room 212
713-743-7819
Racial disparities in the child welfare system, with emphasis on understanding the unique needs and experiences of children in Latino immigrant families

Michael A. Olivas, William B. Bates Distinguished Chair in Law
molivas@uh.edu
4604 Calhoun Road, Teaching Unit II Building Room 201
713-743-2078
Immigration Law, Higher Education Law & Finance, Entertainment Law

Nicolás Kanellos, Brown Foundation of Hispanic Studies & Director of Arte Público Press,
kanellos@uh.edu
3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 416
713-743-3128
Latino literature, history, and culture; publishing history

Roberto Tejada, Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Professor of English, Mexican-American, rjtejada@central.uh.edu,
3687 Cullen Boulevard, Roy Cullen Building Room 229,
713-743-5847
U.S. Latino, and Latin American arts and culture.

Estevan Cesar Azcona, Lecturer, Mexican American Studies
scazcona@uh.edu
3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 323
713-743-3136
Ethnomusicology

Jason Casellas, Associate Professor of Political Science
jcasellas@uh.edu
3551 Cullen Boulevard, Philip Guthrie Hoffman Hall Room 447
713-743-8714
American politics, Latino politics, State and local politics, immigration, and education policy

Craig Johnston, Assistant Professor, Department of Health and Human Performance
cajohn25@central.uh.edu
3855 Holman Street, Garrison Gym, 104J
713-743-0613,
Prevention and treatment of overweight and obesity

Elizabeth Farfan-Santos, Assistant Professor of Anthropology
efarfans@central.uh.edu
713-743-6371
Comparative Cultural Studies.

Jorge E Gonzalez, Associate Professor, Department of Psychological Health and Learning Sciences,
jegonzalez14@uh.edu,
3657 Cullen Boulevard, Farish Hall Room 485
713-743-7286,
The causes and correlates of early language and literacy difficulties in young children.

Jose Angel Hernandez, Associate Professor of History, Department of History
Jose.Angel.Hernandez.PhD@gmail.com
3553 Cullen Blvd, Agnes Arnold Hall, 643
713-743-3126
Mexican Immigration and Colonization Law; Nineteenth Century Mexico; Historiography; Borderlands; Philosophy of History

Manuel Gutierrez, Professor of Spanish Linguistics, Department of Hispanic Studies
mjgutierrez@uh.edu
3553 Cullen Boulevard Room 416
713-743-3007
Spanish sociolinguistics, linguistic contact, applied linguistics

Virmarie Correa-Fernandez, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychological Health
vcorreafernandez@uh.edu
3657 Cullen Boulevard, Farish Hall Room 411
713-743-0334
Health and Learning Sciences

Mark Goldberg, Associate Professor of History, Department of History
magoldberg@uh.edu
3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 545
713- 743-3091
U.S.-Mexico borderlands; Latina/o history; Race and ethnicity; Medical history

Lorena Gauthereau, CLIR/DLF- Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow, Recovering the US Hispanic Literary Heritage, Arte Público Press
lgauthereau@uh.edu
4902 Gulf Freeway, Building 19, Rm. 100
Chicana/o literary criticism, Mexican American literature and culture, Chicana decolonial theory, US-Mexico border literature, postcolonial theory, class analysis, affect theory, digital humanities, public humanities

Marta Fairclough, Associate Professor, Department of Hispanic Studies
mfairclough@uh.edu
3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 440
713-743-3007
Sociolinguistics with an emphasis on U.S. Spanish, Bilingualism, Heritage Language Education, Second Language / Second Dialect Acquisition, Language Testing

Michael Joseph Zvolensky, Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Professor
mjzvolen@central.uh.edu
126 Heyne Building
713-743-8500
Globally aimed at eliminating inequalities in psychopathology, addictive, and other health risk behaviors through translational research.

Brandon Rottinghaus, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
bjrottinghaus@uh.edu
447 Cullen Building
832-588-7336
The American Presidency, Texas politics, public opinion, voting behavior

Consuelo Arbona, Professor, Psychological, Health, and Learning Sciences
carbona@uh.edu
3657 Cullen Boulevard, Farish Hall Room 410
713-743-9814
The relation of ethnic identity, minority stress, and acculturation to psychological adjustment and career development with a focus on Latina/o populations.

Delilah Montoya, Professor, School of Art
dmontoya2@uh.edu
100 Fine Arts Building
713-743-2855
Chicano/a ideology

Jeronimo Cortina, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
jcortina@central.uh.edu
3551 Cullen Blvd. Room 447 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713-743-3894
Latino politics, immigration, political behavior and elections, survey methods, geospatial analysis.

Jodi Berger-Cardoso, Assistant Professor, Department of Social Work
jcardoso@central.uh.edu
3511 Cullen Blvd. Room 110HA
713-743-1157
Exposure to trauma and psychosocial stress before, during and post-migration affects the mental health of Latino immigrants and their children

Maria Monserud, Assistant Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology
mamonser@Central.uh.edu,
489 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
713-743-3962
Health Disparities; Minority Aging; Gender; Racial/Ethnic Families; Social Demography; Quantitative Methodology

Raul Ramos, Associate Professor of History, Department of History
raramos@uh.edu
3553 Cullen Blvd, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 558
713-743-3116
Borderlands History, Chicano/a History, American West, Texas History.

Isabel Torres, Associate Professor, Graduate College of Social Work
istorres@uh.edu
3511 Cullen Blvd., Room 110HA
713-743-1753
Palliative and geriatric care, cancer health disparities, community-based participatory research, international health, medical mistrust/racism and informed decision making

Christina Sisk, Associate Professor, Department of Hispanic Studies
clsisk@uh.edu
3553 Cullen Blvd, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 418
713-743-3007
U.S. Latina/o Studies, U.S.-Mexico Border Studies, Mexican Literary and Cultural Studies, and Latin American Cinema

Mabel Cuesta, Assistant Professor, Department of Hispanic Studies
mcuesta@uh.edu
3553 Cullen Blvd, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 418
713-743-3007
US Latino and Caribbean Literature

Luis Torres, Associate Professor, Graduate College of Social Work
LRTorres@uh.edu
3511 Cullen Blvd., Room 110HA
713-743-8512
Co-occurring mental health, substance use and medical disorders in Hispanics; family and community engagement with a focus on Hispanics.

Abinadi Meza, Associate Professor, Art and College of the Arts (cabinet level)
4188 Elgin Street, Fine Arts Building, Room 312C
832-247-9971
politics and theories of representation, hybrid identities, Chicano politics, liberation theories and practices, desert ecologies, Critical Studies, Art, Performance, Writing, Filmmaking, Theory