College marks milestone: Celebrating 75 years of innovation, achievement, and growth

Four distinguished alumni honored


75thThe College of Technology 75th Anniversary Gala gave me the opportunity to bond with dedicated professors and colleagues, recent graduates and spirited alumni.  It’s energizing to be a part of such a wonderful history! Cynthia E. Olmedo (‘00)

The celebration of the College of Technology’s 75th Anniversary at the Houstonian Hotel on June 15, was a special evening where 265 alumni, faculty, and friends enjoyed a reunion with many individuals who have made a difference in the life of the college.

Jennifer Reyna, proud UH alumnus and traffic reporter and mid-day anchor on KPRC 2, set the tone for an entertaining, yet moving event.

Dr. Renu Khator, president and chancellor of the University of Houston, delivered a compelling message about the incredible transformation of the College and the tremendous potential that lies ahead. Associate provost for faculty development and faculty affairs and interim dean of the College of Technology, Dr. Mark Clarke, gave an inspiring message that further expressed the appreciation for devoted alumni, donors, board members, and dedicated faculty. His closing remarks emphasized the College’s potential to drive innovation, academic, and research expansion.

A highlight of the evening included featured key note speaker, Dr. Tony Ambler, incoming dean of the College of Technology who presented Visions for the Future and an insightful message about opportunities to build a more competitive and collaborative culture.  

Patty Godfrey, president of the UH Alumni Association (UHAA) Foundation offered a lighthearted celebratory toast as she also saluted Technology Alumni Association board members and commended them for their involvement and unwavering support.

Distinguished Alumni awards were given to four individuals - Niels Aalund, Kim Bruder Clarke, John Dalton, and Richard Franco.

About the Distinguished Alumni

nielsNiels Aalund

B.S. Business Technology (‘79)

An officer and senior vice-president of the West Gulf Maritime Association, Niels Aalund is dedicated advocate and spokesperson for maritime and port related companies. He has held maritime-related leadership positions in the commercial sector and for organizations such as the Washington, D.C. - based National Maritime Association. Aalund has served on the University of Houston College of Technology Advisory Board for many years and on numerous regional and national committees and boards.

kimKim Bruder Clarke

B.S. Business Technology (‘81)

Kim Clarke is a life member of the Houston Alumni Association and was chair of the UH College of Technology advisory board for several years. She is a recipient of the UHAA’s 2017 Distinguished Service award. Her life-long commitment to supporting and giving back to the University has included work on several committees such as the Hall of Honor and special projects for UH Advancement and proudly supports the University’s athletic organizations. Kim’s extensive human resource management career has made a notable impact on many facets of business operations. Currently, she is the vice president of human resources for the Kirby Corporation.

johnJohn W. Dalton, Sr.

B.S. Business Technology (‘77)
M.S. Construction Management (‘12)

John Dalton has held diverse executive staff and operations management positions engineering, procurement, construction services for projects worldwide. A proven dynamic leader, he was inducted into to the National Academy of Construction in 2010 and is a key member of university engineering and construction advisory boards. Deeply committed to improving connections between industry and academia, he was influential in originating the process and industrial construction management degree track at the University of Houston. He chairs the UH College of Technology advisory board and serves on the advisory boards of the UH Department of Construction Management.

richardRichard Franco

B.S. Business Technology (‘79)

A strong proponent of the UH College of Technology, Richard Franco has volunteered his time and support for two decades. He has actively supported the University of Houston community, serving as president of the Technology Alumni Association, member of the Operation School Supply committee, the University of Houston Teaching Excellence Awards Selection Committee, Cougar Advocates for Texas committee, UH Alumni Association Alumni Council, and the College of Technology Advisory Board. He is a proud University of Houston Alumni Association Life Member.

Dr. Carole Goodson, a dedicated faculty member and College historian who has served in several leadership capacities was among those honored.

Recent graduate and 2017 recipient of the College of Technology honorary dean’s medal, Angela Madoux reflected on her experiences as a student in the human resources development program.

Fluor Corporation, a partner that continuously invests in the future of the College of Technology sponsored the celebration which was attended by several company representatives.

Through the years, we have continued our commitment to educating and equipping America’s workforce, first as a training facility to Navy personnel during World War II and now to training to students in more than 20 technology-related degree programs.

The College of Technology opened in 1941 as the third permanent building on the University of Houston’s Campus. The Technology Annex, or Campus Industrial Building as it was first called, started off as a vocational technical school for military veterans and for students who were involved in WWII. Business industrial programs were taught at the school to retrain vets to re-establish themselves in normal occupations, and to help train civilians who were occupied in the war effort. In 1945, engineering technology programs, the first in the state of Texas, were introduced to the college.