Technology Graduates Honored at Fall 2016 Reception

College of Technology faculty join in the celebration of banner bearers and award recipients.

From left front row: Anthony Moyegun, Adeloa Mike-Irabor, Ronald Pabello, Brooke Pappas, Ernest Yarro, Jose Santos, and Kristen Whitcomb
From left front row: Ernest Yarro, Adeloa Mike-Irabor, Ronald Pabello, Brooke Pappas, Anthony Moyegun, Jose Santos, and Kristen Whitcomb

On December 15, 2016 the University of Houston College of Technology celebrated its students earning undergraduate and graduate degrees. A reception was held at the University Hilton Hotel to honor their accomplishments. Dr. Heidar Malki, associate dean for academic affairs, opened the program on behalf of the interim dean Dr. Neil Eldin. Awards were presented by Dr. Rupa Iyer, Dr. Heidar Malki and Carlo Deason.

The Dean's Medal of Academic Excellence honors excellence in academic achievement, and is awarded to the highest ranking student, graduating with a 3.75 or above with the final 66 hours in residence at the University of Houston. Accompanied by a $1,000 award, the medal was earned by Ronald Pabello, B. S. in Computer Information Systems. Well - known and regarded among peers and professors throughout the college, Ronald served as a University of Houston College of Technology Ambassador. He is a Houston Food Bank Volunteer and also volunteers with Junior Achievement helping elementary and middle school students learn about business, economic, and free enterprise concepts.

In addition, Kristen Whitcomb, B.S. Global Retailing, received the Outstanding Student Award which celebrates remarkable academic achievements and research activity and is accompanied by a $1,000 award. Kristen served in active duty in the United States Navy as a Machinery Repairman 2nd Class Petty Officer and is a current member in the U.S. Navy Reserves.

The Banner Bearer Award is presented to the highest achieving students in each department at the College of Technology. These students had the privilege of leading graduates into Commencement ceremonies:

  • Ronald Pabello, B.S. Computer Information Systems, College of Technology
  • Jose Santos, B.S. Construction Management, Construction Management Department
  • Ernest Yarro, B.S. Biotechnology, Engineering Technology Department
  • Brooke Pappas, B.S. Retailing and Consumer Science, Human Development and Consumer Sciences Department
  • Adeola Mike-Irabor, B.S. Supply Chain and Logistics, Information and Logistics Technology Department
  • Anthony Moyegun, M.S. Computer Information Systems, Graduate Studies