College of Technology Celebrates Achievements of Graduates

Banner Bearers
Left to right: Jorge Gonzalez, Jessney James, Jeffery Mackey, Moojan Hakim, Zachary Stahly, Punitha Atluru

Nearly 600 College of Technology students earned their undergraduate and graduate degrees at the end of the spring 2016 semester. In their honor, the College hosted a graduation reception on May 12, at the University of Houston Hilton Hotel, where a gathering of 200 family, friends, faculty, and staff joined in the celebration.

The College's interim dean, Dr. Neil Eldin opened the program with encouraging motivational remarks before introducing Dr. Rupa Iyer, Dr. Heidar Malki, Dr. Wajiha Shireen, and Carlo Deason who made award presentations.

The College of Technology Dean’s Medal of Academic Excellence is an award for academic achievement, based on the University’s standards for honors recognition. It is presented to the highest-ranking students, graduating with a grade point average of 3.75 or above with the final 66 hours in residence at the University of Houston. Accompanied by a one thousand dollar award, the medal was earned by three students: Jorge Gonzales, B.S. Electrical Power Engineering Technology; Jessney James, B. S. Human Resource Development; and Viktoriya Kauffman, B. S. Supply Chain and Logistics Technology.

In addition, Jorge Gonzales was named the overall College of Technology Outstanding Student, which is accompanied by a $1,000 award.

John McClure, B.S. Electrical Power Engineering Technology, won the Engineering Technology Outstanding Student Award. The $500 award is funded by a generous anonymous donor to the engineering technology program.

The Banner Bearer awards are presented each semester to high achieving scholars selected by each academic department and the graduate studies program. In addition to an overall College leader, each student displays the academic program’s banner during the University of Houston graduation ceremonies. College of Technology banner bearers included:

  • Jorge Gonzalez, College of Technology (overall), B.S. Electrical Power Engineering Technology
  • Punitha Atluru, Graduate Studies, M.S. Engineering Technology
  • Moojan Hakim, Department of Information and Logistics Technology, B.S. Digital Media
  • Jessney James, Department of Human Development and Consumer Sciences, B.S. Retailing and Consumer Science
  • Jeffery Mackey, Department of Engineering Technology, B.S. Biotechnology

Photos of the graduation reception are available on the College Facebook page: Facebook and Instagram