Leadership Changes Announced

Dr. Heidar Malki, and Dr. Wajiha Shireen
Dr. Heidar Malki, (left) and Dr. Wajiha Shireen

Dr. Heidar Malki, Chair of Engineering Technology, has become Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Operations. Dr. Wajiha Shireen, Professor of Engineering Technology, has been named Chair of the Department of Engineering Technology. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Fred Lewallen, has decided to retire this year, precipitating the leadership changes in the College of Technology.

"Professor Lewallen has been a strong leader, who has done an outstanding job as Associate Dean," said Dean William Fitzgibbon. "He has played a critical role not only in the success of the College but in its survival as well. We all owe him an enormous debt of gratitude." Both Professor Malki and Professor Shireen are well known and respected not only in the College of Technology but across campus as well. I am confident they both will do an excellent job," said Fitzgibbon.

An event recognizing Professor Lewallen’s retirement and honoring his service will be held later this spring.