College of Technology Faculty Appointed to UH ADVANCE Project


The University of Houston has been awarded a $3.3 million grant over five years from the National Science Foundation ADVANCE to increase the number and success of women faculty in the science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and social science fields.  

Several College of Technology faculty will assume significant roles in supporting the implementation of ADVANCE activities and programs, which includes serving as UH ADVANCE Advocates. As the "eyes and ears on the ground" in the departments, the team will reinforce the benefits of ADVANCE to the UH campus community. 

Center director, Provost Paula Short selected the ADVANCE Advocates, a team of influential faculty selected from among the STEM Colleges, to spearhead the ADVANCE activity implementation at the department and college levels Twenty-three departments from five colleges constitute the ADVANCE STEM fields at UH.

On the UH ADVANCE Project Implementation and Management Team, Chair and Lead Co-PI, Dr. Holly Hutchins, Associate Professor, Human Development and Consumer Sciences, will direct the “UH Leaders Program,” and serve as strategic initiative co-leader of professional engagement, development, and advancement. Dr. Jamison Kovach, Associate Professor, Department of Information and Logistics Technology, and Dr. Lingguang Song, Associate Professor, Department of Construction Management were chosen as Advocates for the first year.

The College of Technology’s participation on the various UH ADVANCE committees includes:

Internal Advisory Committee

Dr. William Fitzgibbon, Dean, College of Technology

Recruitment and Retention

Dr. Deniz Gurkan, Associate Professor, Department of Electrical Technology

Professional Engagement, Development and Advancement

Co-leader: Dr. Holly Hutchins, Co-PI, Associate Professor and Undergraduate HRD Program Coordinator Human Resource Development Program

Dr. Rupa Iyer, Associate Dean, Research, Department Engineering Technology, Biotechnology

Dr. Jamison Kovach, Associate Professor, Department of Information Logistics Technology

Dr. Fatima Merchant, Assistant Professor, Engineering Technology

Diversity and Inclusion

Dr. Wajiha Shireen, Professor and Chair, Department of Engineering Technology

Dr. Fatima Merchant, Associate Professor, Department of Engineering Technology

Work-Life Infrastructure

Dr. Francisco Robles, Associate Professor, Department of Engineering Technology