Skip to main content

IRB Committee 2

IRB Committee 2 is responsible for the full review of human subjects research protocols for:

  • C.T. Bauer School of Business
  • McGovern College of the Arts
  • College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences (CLASS), with the exception of HHP 
  • Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture & Design
  • Graduate College of Social Work
  • Hilton College of Hotel & Restaurant Management
  • UH Law Center
IRB 2 also reviews submissions not affiliated with a specific college (e.g., Division of Research Centers and Institutes, Health and Wellness, Library)

IRB2 does not review FDA-regulated research.

Full Committee

Submission Deadlines IRB 2 Meeting Date
Friday, August 10, 2018 Friday, August 24, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018 Friday, September 28, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018 Friday, October 26, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018 Friday, November 16, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018 Friday, December 7, 2018
Friday, January 11, 2019 Friday, January 25, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019 Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019 Friday, March 29, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019 Friday, April 26, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019 Friday, May 24, 2019
Friday, June 14, 2019 Friday, June 28, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019 Friday, July 26, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019 Friday, August 23, 2019

*Dates are subject to change without notice if circumstances require rescheduling.

Expedited Review

Protocols falling under an expedited category and involving no more than minimal risk, as well as minor changes in approved full board protocols, may be reviewed under an expedited process. The Chair of IRB 2 either reviews or delegates the review to one or more experienced IRB members, who review the protocol under applicable regulations and either approves or requires modifications to the protocol prior to approval. An expedited reviewer may not disapprove a protocol, but may forward to the fully convened committee for further determination if warranted. Expedited submissions are considered on a rolling basis, thus turnaround time for these submissions is expected to be quicker than for protocols undergoing full board review.  

Exempt Status

Protocols falling under an exempt category defined under the federal regulations require administrative review by the IRB office to ensure that basic ethical principles, such as confidentiality of data and obtaining informed consent where applicable, are addressed. Applications for exempt protocols are reviewed by IRB staff on a rolling basis, thus turnaround time for these submissions is expected to be quicker than for protocols undergoing full board review.