Skip to main content

Committees on Academic Centers and Institutes

Academic Centers and Institutes (ACIs) draw on the strengths of multiple faculty members, academic departments, and/or colleges to provide an inclusive foundation for collective scholarly activity and foster the sharing of ideas through activities devoted to scholarship, education, training, and/or dissemination that promote the mission of the University. In contrast to ACIs, centers and institutes where research is the primary purpose are designated as Research Organizations (ROs) that are governed by separate MAPP guidelines and are administered by the Division of Research.

ACIs are distinguished by their reporting structure. A University-level Center or Institute must be interdisciplinary, involving multiple colleges, and/or departments. A University-level ACI reports directly to the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost (SVPAA/P). ACIs may also have a reporting structure at the level of the College or Department and may or may not be interdisciplinary. A College-level ACI reports to the Dean of the College and typically (but not necessarily) involves multiple departments. A Department-level ACI reports to the Departmental Chair, and is usually centered on activities of faculty within that department. Both College-level and Department-level ACIs may expand to include other faculty and departments across colleges to reach a level where the ACI could apply for designation as a University-level ACI reporting to the SVPAA/P.

Members of the Committee on Academic Centers and Institutes are appointed by the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost from a pool of nominees submitted by College Deans and the Faculty Senate.  Appointments are for two-year terms with the possibility of reappointment.

Committee Members

randall lee
T. Randall Lee
Committee Chair
Cullen Distinguished University Chair, NSM
richard defrank
Richard S. DeFrank
Associate Professor
Barbara Evans
Barbara Evans
cathy horn
Catherine Horn
Associate Professor

Rex Koontz
Rex Koontz
ezemenari obasi
Ezemenari M. Obasi
Associate Professor
Paul Ruchhoeft
Paul Ruchhoeft
Associate Professor
Lynn Voskuil
Lynn Voskuil
Associate Professor
Liberal Arts and Social Sciences


Administrative Guidelines, Policies and Procedures

List of Academic Centers and Institutes

University-Level Centers and Institutes

Name of Center/Institute Activities Scope Director or Contact Email Phone
Asian American Studies Center Education/Research University-wide Dr. Yali Zou (713)743-4982
Center for Information Security Research and Education (CiSRE) Education/Research University-wide Dr. William Arthur Conklin (713)743-1556
Center for Mexican Amercian Studies Education/Research University-wide Dr. Pamela Quiroz (713)743-3134
Cynthia Woods Mitchell Center for the Arts Arts University-wide Ms. Karen L. Farber (713)743-1978
UH Stem Center Education/Research University-wide Vacant  
Wolff Center for Entrepreneurship Education University-wide Dr. Edward Blair (713)743-4565

College-Level Centers and Institutes

Name of Center/Institute Activities College Director or Contact Email  Phone
All Kids Alliance Education/Research Education Bob Wimpelberg (713)743-5008
Center For Art and Social Engagement Education/Scholarly Arts Sixto Wagan (713)743-4281
Center for International and Comparative Studies Education/Scholarly CLASS Dr. Jonathan Slapin (713)743-3905
Center for U.S. and Mexican Law Research/Scholarly Law Alfonso Lopez de la Osa Escribao (713)743-6137
Community Design Resource Center Architecture Susan Rogers (713)743-2403
Gutierez Energy Management Institute (GEMI) Business Praveen Kumar (713)743-4770
Health Law & Policy Institute Research/Scholarly Law Ms. April Moreno (713)743-2101
Houston Area Teacher Center (HATC) Education Education Melissa Pierson (713)743-4961
Institute for Educational Policy, Research, and Evaluation (IEPRE) Education/Research Education Dr. Cathy Horn (713)743-5032
Institute for Health Care Marketing (IHCM) Business Dr. Partha Krishnamurthy (713)743-4576
Institute for Higher Education Law & Governance (IHELG) Education/Research Law Dr. Michael A. Olivas (713)743-2078
Institute for Intellectual Property & Information Law (IPIL) Education/Scholarly Law Greg Vetter (713)743-3596
Institute for Urban Education Education/Research Education Dr. Jackie Hawkins (713)743-9823
Sales Excellence Institute Education/Research Business Dr. Mike Ahearne (713)743-4155
Sasakawa International Center for Space Architecture Education/Research Engineering Dr. Olga Bannova (713)743-2352
Stanford Alexander Center for Excellence in Real Estate Education/Scholarly Business Keith Richards (713)743-2522
The Environment, Energy & Natural Resource Center Education/Scholarly Law Dr. Jacqueline Weaver (713743-2158
UH Coastal Center NSM Dr. Steven Pennings (713)743-2989

Department-Level Centers and Institutes

Name of Center/Institute Activities Department Director or Contact Email Phone
Center for Immigration Research Scholarly Sociology Dr. Jessica Brown (interim) (713)743-3958
Center for Innovative Grouting Materials and Technology Education/Research Civil Engineering Dr. C. Vipulanandan (713)743-4260
Center for Public History Education/Research History Dr. Martin Melosi (713)743-3090
Center for the Study of African American Culture Education/Research African American Studies Dr. James Conyers (713)743-2813
Language and Culture Center Education English Joy Tesh (713)743-3019