Provost's Cabinet

paula myrick shortPaula Myrick Short, Ph.D.

Senior Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs, UH System
Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, UH

As the Chief Academic Officer, the Provost is responsible for student access and success, academic programs and policies, and oversees faculty appointments, promotions, and tenure.

832-842-0550  provost@uh.edu

richard phillipsRichard D. Phillips, M.S.

Associate Vice Chancellor for System Initiatives

Responsible for planning, operations, and outreach for off-campus programs in Sugar Land, Katy, Northwest Houston and elsewhere.

281-275-3062 dickphillips@uh.edu

chris stanichChris Stanich, J.D.

Associate Vice Chancellor/Associate Provost
Institutional Planning and Analysis

Responsible for strategic and budget planning, policy analysis, performance evaluation, SACS accreditation, and support for Board of Regents activities.

832-842-0545 cstanich@uh.edu

richard olenchakF. Richard Olenchak, Ph.D.

Associate Provost, Faculty Development and Faculty Affairs

Responsible for activities related to the recruitment, hiring, orientation, professional development, and promotion and tenure of faculty.

713-743-9103 rolenchak@uh.edu

bruce jonesBruce Jones, Ph.D.

Vice Provost, Academic Programs and Interim Vice Provost, Academic Programs at UH Sugar Land

Responsible for assessment of academic program quality and effectiveness and for coordinating the development of academic programs.  

713-743-2490 bajones4@uh.edu

maureen croftMaureen Grimes Croft, Ph.D.

Interim Associate Provost for Strategic Enrollment Planning

Responsible for the development, implementation, and management of undergraduate strategic enrollment planning.

832-842-8703 mgcroft@uh.edu

longacreTeri Elkins Longacre, J.D., Ph.D.

Vice Provost and Dean, Undergraduate Student Success

Responsible for articulating and implementing a strategic vision for the university’s undergraduate student success efforts, including academic advising, research opportunities, and improvement of academic programs.

713-743-4669 elkins@uh.edu

dmitri litvinovDmitri Litvinov, Ph.D.

Vice Provost and Dean, University of Houston Graduate School

Responsible for planning and developing a University of Houston graduate school, including the coordination of graduate admissions, the implementation of graduate school policies and procedures, and ensuring adequate financial support for graduate students.

713-743-4168 litvinov@uh.edu

jeff morganJeff Morgan, Ph.D.

Associate Provost, Education Innovation and Technology

Responsible for assessing the effectiveness of different teaching modalities and identifying technologies to advance learning and teaching.

832-842-4725 jmorgan11@uh.edu

jaime ortizJaime Ortiz, Ph.D.

Vice Provost for Global Strategies and Studies

Responsible for reviewing and analyzing the effectiveness of global activities including study abroad programs, and the development of outreach strategies to recruit and retain faculty, students, and staff from diverse and international backgrounds.

713-743-7310 Jortiz22@uh.edu

ramanan krishnamoortiRamanan Krishnamoorti, Ph.D.

Chief Energy Officer

Responsible for developing a strategic plan, analyzing workforce needs, and developing external partnerships in order to enhance the university’s academic and research programs related to energy.

713-743-4307 ramanan@uh.edu

earl smithEarl L. Smith, O.D., Ph.D.

Interim Chief Health Officer

Responsible for developing a strategic plan and working with stakeholders on creating a UH Health Science Center that is relevant to the community.

713-743-1899 esmith@uh.edu

sabrina hassumani headshotSabrina Hassumani, Ph.D.

Interim Associate Provost, Finance and Administration

Responsible for budget administration, human resources, facilities maintenance/renovation, and business policies and procedures for the Division of Academic Affairs.

713-743-2755 shassumani@uh.edu