Contact Us

Office of the General Counsel311 Ezekiel Cullen Building
Houston, Texas 77204-2028
(832) 842- 0949
(713) 743-0948 (Fax)

Office of Contract Administration

Email:  contractadmin@uh.edu
311 Ezekiel Cullen Building
Houston, Texas 77204-2028
(832) 842-7078
(713) 743-5664 (Fax)

Equal Opportunity Services

Email: eos@uh.edu
153 Student Services Center 2
Houston, TX 77204-3020
(713) 743-8835
(713) 743-0959 (Fax)

Office of Intellectual Property Management

316 Ezekiel Cullen Building
Houston, TX 77204-2015
(713) 743-9222
(713) 743-9227 (Fax)
 

Office of the General Counsel

 
Vice Chancellor / Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel
Dona H. Cornell
B.A., University of Texas, 1982
J.D., University of Texas School of Law, 1986
E-mail:dhcornell@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-0949

Associate Vice Chancellor / Vice President for Legal Affairs and Associate General Counsel 
Mark R. Yzaguirre
B.A., Rice University, 1994
J.D., Harvard Law School, 1997
E-mail: myzaguirre@uh.edu
Phone: (713) 743-3701

Associate General Counsel
Valerie Coleman-Ferguson
B.A.W., Howard University, 1981
J.D., Thurgood Marshall School of Law, 1985
E-mail: viferguson@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-0949

Associate General Counsel
Eric D. Bentley
B.A., Hawaii Pacific University, 2000.
M.S.S., United States Sports Academy, 2003
J.D., University of Houston Law Center, 2004
E-mail: ebentley@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7082

Senior Assistant General Counsel
Jennifer E. Bloom
B.A., Dartmouth College, 1989
J.D., University of Houston Law Center, 1997
E-mail: jebloom@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7083

Senior Assistant General Counsel
Ruth E. Shapiro
B.A., University of Rochester, 1982
J.D., Columbia University School of Law, 1985
E-mail: rshapiro@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7088

Senior Assistant General Counsel
Talibah P. Young
B.A., Clark Atlanta University, 1997
J.D., Thurgood Marshall School of Law, 2000
E-mail: tyoung@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7090

Assistant General Counsel
Lauri S. Ruiz
B.A., University of Texas at Austin, 1980
J.D., University of Texas School of Law, 1987
E-mail:lsruiz@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7086

Executive Administrative Assistant
Leslie Pruski
E-mail: lpruski@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-0949

Legal Assistant
Myra Holiday
B.A., Sam Houston State University, 2011
Legal Assistant Certificate Program, University of Texas at Austin, 2000
E-mail:  mjholiday@uh.edu
Phone:  (832) 842-7087

Immigration Specialist 
Kate Hammons
Email:  kehammons@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7085

Office Assistant
Jacqueline Lerma
Email:  jglerma@uh.edu
Phone:  (832) 842-7092


Office of Contract Administration

Associate Vice Chancellor / Vice President for Legal Affairs and Associate General Counsel 
Mark R. Yzaguirre
B.A., Rice University, 1994
J.D., Harvard Law School, 1997
E-mail: myzaguirre@uh.edu
Phone: (713) 743-3754
Associate General Counsel

E-mail:
Phone: (832) 842-7094

Assistant General Counsel
Shereese Mayo-Ward
B.S., George Mason University, 1997
J.D., The Catholic University of American
     Columbus School of Law 2005
Email: smayward@uh.edu
Phone:  (832) 842-7093
 
Contracts Administrator
Donna Halton

E-mail: dhalton@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7078


Office of Equal Opportunity Services 

Assistant Vice Chancellor / Vice President for Equal Opportunity Services 
Dr. Richard Anthony Baker

B.S.W., University of Texas at Austin, 1999
J.D., M.P.A., Texas Tech University, 2002
Ph.D., Texas Tech University, 2010
Email: rabaker4@uh.edu
Phone: (713) 743-8835

Assistant Director
Brian A. Schaffer

B.A., Stony Brook University, 1980
J.D., American University Law School, 1983
LL.M., Georgetown University Law Center, 1985
Email: baschaffer@uh.edu
Phone: (713) 743-0956

Equal Opportunity Specialist
Jyl A. Shaffer
B.A. Clarion University of Pennsylvania, 2002
M.A. Lipscomb University, 2011
Email:  jrshaffer@uh.edu
Phone:  (713) 743-8821

Equal Opportunity Coordinator
Mandisa Oliver
Email:  mcoliver@uh.edu
Phone:  (713) 743-5635