Skip to main content

Contact Us

Office of the General Counsel

311 Ezekiel Cullen Building
Houston, Texas 77204-2028
(832) 842- 0949
(713) 743-0948 (Fax)

Office of Contract Administration

Email:  contractadmin@uh.edu
311 Ezekiel Cullen Building
Houston, Texas 77204-2028
(832) 842-7078
(713) 743-5664 (Fax)


Staff contacts by office:
Office of the General Counsel     • Office of Contract Administration


Office of the General Counsel

 
Vice Chancellor / Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel
Dona H. Cornell
B.A., University of Texas, 1982
J.D., University of Texas School of Law, 1986
E-mail:dhcornell@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-0949

Associate Vice Chancellor / Vice President for Legal Affairs and Associate General Counsel 
Mark R. Yzaguirre
B.A., Rice University, 1994
J.D., Harvard Law School, 1997
E-mail: myzaguirre@uh.edu
Phone: (713) 743-3701

Associate General Counsel
Valerie Coleman-Ferguson
B.A.W., Howard University, 1981
J.D., Thurgood Marshall School of Law, 1985
E-mail: viferguson@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-0949

Associate General Counsel
Eric D. Bentley
B.A., Hawaii Pacific University, 2000.
M.S.S., United States Sports Academy, 2003
J.D., University of Houston Law Center, 2004
E-mail: ebentley@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7082

Senior Assistant General Counsel
Jennifer E. Bloom
B.A., Dartmouth College, 1989
J.D., University of Houston Law Center, 1997
E-mail: jebloom@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7083

Senior Assistant General Counsel
Ruth E. Shapiro
B.A., University of Rochester, 1982
J.D., Columbia University School of Law, 1985
E-mail: rshapiro@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7088

Senior Assistant General Counsel
Talibah P. Young
B.A., Clark Atlanta University, 1997
J.D., Thurgood Marshall School of Law, 2000
E-mail: tyoung@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7090

Assistant General Counsel
Lauri S. Ruiz
B.A., University of Texas at Austin, 1980
J.D., University of Texas School of Law, 1987
E-mail:lsruiz@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7086

Executive Administrative Assistant
Leslie Pruski
E-mail: lpruski@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-0949

Immigration Specialist 
Kate Hammons
Email:  kehammons@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7085

Office Assistant
Cierra Darden
Email:  cndarden@uh.edu
Phone:  713-743-7117  


Office of Contract Administration

Associate Vice Chancellor / Vice President for Legal Affairs and Associate General Counsel 
Mark R. Yzaguirre
B.A., Rice University, 1994
J.D., Harvard Law School, 1997
E-mail: myzaguirre@uh.edu
Phone: (713) 743-3754

Associate General Counsel
Tiffany Melchers
B.A., Winthrop University, 2003
J.D., University of South Carolina School of Law, 2005
E-mail: tmmelchers@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7094

Senior Assistant General Counsel
Shereese Mayo-Ward
B.S., George Mason University, 1997
J.D., The Catholic University of American
     Columbus School of Law 2005
LL.M. in Taxation, University of Houston Law Center,  2014 
LL.M. in Energy, Environment, and Natural Resources, University of Houston Law Center, 2014
Email: smayward@uh.edu
Phone:  (832) 842-7093
 
Contracts Manager
Donna Halton

E-mail: dhalton@uh.edu
Phone: (832) 842-7078