Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff

Alphabetically | By Department 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | WXYZ |


Name Contact Area

A

No image available Atherholt, Robert
Visiting Faculty in Oboe
MSM 176 Woodwinds
Alan Austin

Austin, Alan
General and Artistic Director,
Immanuel & Helen Olshan Texas Music Festival

tmf@uh.edu
(713)743-3167
MSM 136

Administration
James Austin Austin, James
Professor Emeritus of Music
Trumpet
jaustin4@uh.edu
MSM 335
Brass
Return to top

B

Mark Barton

Barton, Mark
Instructional Faculty - Tuba
Division Chair of Brass and Woodwinds

mbarton@uh.edu
(713)743-3186
MSM 142
 Brass
John Benzer Benzer, John
Lecturer in Music Education
JBenzer@uh.edu
(713)743-3324
MSM 138
Music Education
Paul A. Bertagnolli Bertagnolli, Paul
Associate Professor of Musicology
Division Chair of Musicology
pbertagnolli@uh.edu
(713)743-3144
MSM 217
Musicology
No Picture Available

Bigwood, Cora
Lecturer

MSM 139 Music Education
Garreth Broesche

Broesche, Garreth
Visiting Lecturer in Music Theory

gpbroesche@uh.edu
(713)743-3177
MSM 170
Theory
Wayne Brooks Brooks, Wayne
Affiliate Artist in Viola
wabrooks@uh.edu
MSM 203
Strings
Jason Burton Burton, Jason
Assistant Theater Manager
jburton@uh.edu
(713)743-3431
MSM 167
Administration
Return to top

C

No image available

Chie-Jung Chen, DMA
Director, Preparatory & Continuing Studies Faculty
Honors Piano Program Moores School of Music University of Houston

Administration
Cynthia Clayton Clayton, Cynthia
Associate Professor of Voice
cynthiaclayton@uh.edu
(713)743-3304
MSM 309
Voice/Opera

Clemmer, David
Associate Professor of Music
Director of Bands

dclemmer@uh.edu
(713)743-9739
E-121 (Winston Complex)

Conducting
Courtney Crappell Crappell, Courtney
Associate Professor of Piano & Piano Pedagogy
ccrappell@uh.edu
(713)743-6118
MSM 231
Piano/Piano Pedagogy
Return to top

D

dinitz-a.jpg Dinitz, Adam
Affiliate Artist in Oboe/English Horn
MSM 176 Woodwinds
Matthew Dirst Dirst, Matthew
Professor of Musicology
mdirst@uh.edu
(713)743-3150
MSM 215
Musicology
Aralee Dorough Dorough, Aralee
Affiliate Artist in Flute

adorough@uh.edu
MSM 353

Woodwinds
Aaminah Durrani Durrani, Aaminah
Clinical Assistant Professor of Theory
adurrani@uh.edu
(713)743-0752
MSM 152
Theory
Return to top

E

Joseph Evans Evans, Joseph
Professor of Voice
Voice Division Chair
Jsevans@uh.edu
(713)743-3149
MSM 301
Voice/Opera
Return to top

F

None Fischer, Jonathan
Affiliate Artist in Oboe
MSM 176 Woodwinds
Joel Fulgham Fulgham, Joel
Affiliate Artist in Percussion
jfulgham@uh.edu
MSM 268
Percussion
Return to top

G

Dan Gelok Gelok, Dan
Instructional Faculty in Saxophone
dcgelok@uh.edu 
(713)743-3322
MSM 337
Woodwinds
Andrezj Grabiec Grabiec, Andrzej
Professor of Violin
agrabiec@uh.edu
(713)743-3152
MSM 207
Strings
Randall Griffin Griffin, Randall
Affiliate Artist in Clarinet
rgriffin8@uh.edu
(713)743-3287
MSM 325
Woodwinds
Return to top

H

No pic available Hansen, Erin
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music Education
emhansen@uh.edu
(713) 743-4908
MSM 132
Music Education
Raymond Harvey Harvey, Raymond
Clinical Associate Professor
rcharvey2@uh.edu
(713)743-1797
MSM 315
Opera
Charles Hausmann Hausmann, Charles
Professor of Choral Studies
chausmann@uh.edu  
(713)743-3160
MSM 164
Choral Studies/Conducting/Music Education
hester80.jpg Hester, Timothy
Professor of Piano
Director of Keyboard Collaborative Arts
thester@uh.edu
(713)743-3309
MSM 227
Keyboard
Alan E. Hicks Hicks, Alan E.
Instructional Assistant Professor
Associate Producer, Moores Opera Center
aehicks2@uh.edu
(713)743-7360
MSM 182
Opera
No image available Horvit, Michael (Emeritus)
Composition
mhorvit@uh.edu
(512)609-8411
Composition
Mark Hughes

Hughes, Mark
Affiliate Artist in Trumpet

mahughes2@uh.edu
MSM 335
Brass
Return to top

I

       
Return to top

J

Robert Johnson Johnson, Robert
Affiliate Artist in French Horn
rjohnson3@uh.edu
MSM 341
Brass
Timothy Jones Jones, Timothy
Associate Professor of Voice
tjones24@uh.edu
(713)743-3179
MSM 307
Voice/Opera
Return to top

K

Julie Derges Kastner Kastner, Julie Derges
Assistant Professor of Music Education
Division Chair of Music Education
jdkastner@uh.edu
(713)743-4547
MSM 130
Music Education
Brian Kauk Kauk, Brian
Affiliate Artist in Trombone
bkauk@uh.edu
(713)743-3334
MSM 345
Brass
anthony-kitai80.jpg Kitai, Anthony
Affiliate Artist in cello
anthonykitai@hotmail.com
(713)743-3379
MSM 211
Strings
 No image available Klingensmith, David
Affiliate Artist in Jazz Bass
dklingensmith@uh.edu
MSM 211
Jazz
Timothy Koozin Koozin, Timothy
Professor of Music Theory
Division Chair of Music Theory
tkoozin@uh.edu
(713)743-3318
MSM 148
Theory
Franz Anton Krager Krager, Franz
Professor of Conducting
Director of Orchestral Studies
fak@uh.edu
(713)743-3189
MSM 178
Conducting
Return to top

L

No image available Lack, Fredell (Emeritus)
Violin
Strings
Barbara Rose Lange Lange, Barbara Rose
Associate Professor of Ethnomusicology
 rlange@central.uh.edu
(713)743-3315
MSM 219
Musicology
Anna Langley Langley, Anna
Lecturer
MSM 139 Music Education
Suzanne LeFevre LeFevre, Suzanne
Affiliate Artist in Viola
slefevre@uh.edu
MSM 205
Strings
Return to top

M

Noe Marmolejo Marmolejo, Noe
Associate Professor of Jazz
Director of Jazz Studies
nmarmolejo@uh.edu
(713)743-3191
MSM 146
Jazz
Marcus Karl Maroney Maroney, Marcus Karl
Associate Professor of Composition
mkmaroney@uh.edu  
(713)743-9477
MSM 321
Composition
Marc Martin Martin, Marc
Visiting Assistant Professor
Associate Director of Athletic Bands
mcmartin@uh.edu
(713) 743-3190
E 125
Bands
Melissa McCrimmon McCrimmon, Melissa
Associate Director, Texas Music Festival
mfmccrimmon@uh.edu
(713)743-7274
MSM 134
Administration
No image available McGregor, Laura
Lecturer

Sugarland Campus

Music Education
Lynda McKnight McKnight, Lynda Keith
Affiliate Artist in Voice

lkmcknight@uh.edu
(713)743-3874
MSM 305

Voice
Shane Monds Monds, Shane
Piano Technician

srmonds@Central.UH.EDU
(713)743-9470
MSM 149

Staff
Ilan Morgenstern Morgenstern, Ilan
Affiliate Artist in Bass Trombone
 imorgenstern@uh.edu
(713)743-3009
MSM 174
Brass
Tali Morgulis Morgulis, Tali
Associate Professor of Piano
tmorgulis@uh.edu
(713)743-3180
MSM 237
Keyboard
Jeb Mueller Mueller, Jeb
Associate Director of Choral Studies
jmueller2@uh.edu
(713)743-3319
MSM 156
Choral Studies/Music Education
Nancy Murphy

Murphy, Nancy
Assistant Professor of Music Theory

 nemurphy@central.uh.edu
(713)743-7446
MSM 140
Music Theory

Miller ,Kevin

Faculty in Keyboard

Keyboard
Return to top

N

Robert Nelson Nelson, Robert (Emeritus)
Professor Emeritus of Composition and Music Theory
Theory
No image available Nuccio, Mark
Affiliate Artist in Clarinet 
nuccioclarinet@gmail.com
MSM 
Woodwinds
Return to top

O

Ana Maria Otamendi

Otamendi, Ana Maria
Visiting Assistant Professor

aotamend@central.uh.edu
(713) 743-0210
MSM 329

Voice/Opera
Return to top

P

Paula Page Page, Paula
Affiliate Artist in Harp
ppage@uh.edu
MSM 252
Strings
Howard Pollack Pollack, Howard
John and Rebecca Moores Professor of Musicology
hpollack@uh.edu
(713)743-3165
MSM 223
Musicology
Ken Ponche Ponche, Ken
Piano Technician
kponche@uh.edu
(713)743-3226
MSM 149
Staff
Return to top

R

Gavin Reed Reed, Gavin
Affiliate Artist in French Horn
greed3@uh.edu
MSM 174
Brass
No image available Risinger, Carol
Band Office Coordinator
crisinger@uh.edu
(713)743-3175
E 127
Staff
darylrobinson.jpg

Robinson, Daryl
Assistant Professor
Director of Organ Studies

darobins@central.uh.edu
(713)743-7316

MSM 166

Organ Studies
Buck Ross Ross, Buck
Edythe Bates Old Professor of Music
Director, Moores Opera Center
bross@uh.edu
(713)743-3162
MSM 184
Voice/Opera
No image available Rowell, Chester
Affiliate Artist in Clarinet
cdrowell@uh.edu
MSM 331
Woodwinds
Peggy Russell Russell, Peggy
Affiliate Artist in Flute
prussell@uh.edu
(713)743-3009
MSM 353
Woodwinds
Return to top

S

Vagram Saradjian Saradjian, Vagram
Professor of Cello
cello@uh.edu
(713)743-3155
MSM 209
Strings
Abbey Simon Simon, Abbey
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor of Music
(713)743-3145
MSM 229
Keyboard
Rob Smith Smith, Rob
Associate Professor of Composition
Division Chair of Composition
Director, AURA Contemporary Ensemble
RobSmith@uh.edu
(713)743-3163
MSM 327
Composition
John Snyder Snyder, John
Professor of Music Theory
jlsnyder@uh.edu
(713)743-3143
MSM 150
Theory
Melanie Sonnenberg Sonnenberg, Melanie
Professor of Voice
msonnenberg@uh.edu
(713)743-9963
MSM 311
Voice/Opera
Jeffrey S. Sposato Sposato, Jeffrey
Associate Professor of Musicology
Director of Graduate Studies
jssposato@uh.edu
(713)743-5697
MSM 221
Musicology
Melissa Suhr Suhr, Melissa
Affiliate Artist in Flute
mdsuhr@uh.edu
MSM 205
Woodwinds
Brian Suits Suits, Brian
Visiting Associate Professor
bjsuits@central.UH.EDU
MSM 235
Keyboard
Return to top

T

No image available Tomfohrde, Ruth (Emeritus)
Piano
(713)464-6668 Keyboard
No image available Turner, Katherine
Visiting Assistant Professor

klturner5@uh.edu
(713)743-3009
MSM 208

Musicology
Return to top

V

Hector Vasquez Vasquez, Hector
Affiliate Artist in Voice
hectorvasquez@uh.edu
(713)743-3157
MSM 305
Voice/Opera
No image available Vassallo, Jim
Affiliate Artist in Trumpet
jvassallo@uh.edu
(713)743-3332
MSM 341
Brass
No image available Vinson, Dan
Affiliate Artist in Euphonium
dsvinson@uh.edu
MSM 203
Brass
Return to top

WXYZ

No image available Wagner, Elise
Affiliate Artist in Bassoon
elwagner@uh.edu
(713)743-3328
MSM 351
Woodwinds
Robert Walp Walp, Robert
Affiliate Artist in Trumpet
bobwalp@mac.com
(713)743-
MSM 331
Brass
Alec Warren Warren, Alec
Affiliate Artist in Percussion
pawarren@uh.edu
(713)743-3192
MSM 180
Percussion
Betsy Weber Weber, Betsy
Professor of Choral Studies
Director of Choral Studies
bweber@uh.edu
(713)743-3194
MSM 154
Choral Studies/Conducting/Music Education
Nancy Weems Weems, Nancy
Madison Endowed Professor of Piano
Division Chair of Piano
nweems@uh.edu
(713)743-3182
MSM 233
Keyboard
No Photo Available Welch, Chapman
Lecturer in Music Technology
cwelch@uh.edu
(713)743-3009
Music Technology
Lawrence Wheeler Wheeler, Lawrence
Associate Professor
lwheeler3@uh.edu
(713)743-3148
MSM 168
Music Appreciation & Fundamentals
Mike Wheeler Wheeler, Michael
Affiliate Artist in Guitar
mwheeler4@uh.edu
MSM 176
Jazz
david-white80.jpg White, David Ashley
Professor of Composition and Music Theory
dwhite@uh.edu
(713)743-3170
MSM 141
Theory/Composition
Dennis Whitakker Whittaker, Dennis
Affiliate Artist in Double Bass
dwhittaker@uh.edu
(713)743-3379
MSM 211
Strings
Blake M. Wilkins

Wilkins, Blake
Director Moores School of Music
Professor of Percussion
Director of Percussion Studies
Director of Undergraduate Studies

bwilkins@uh.edu
(713)743-3192
MSM 186
Percussion
Woody Witt Witt, Woody
Affiliate Artist in Jazz Saxophone
wwitt@uh.edu
(713)743-2545
MSM 180
Jazz
No image available Woller, Megan
Lecturer
MSM 206 Musicology
Kirsten Yon Yon, Kirsten
Associate Professor of Violin
Division Chair of Strings
kayon@uh.edu
(713)743-3154
MSM 201
Strings
Return to top