

September 2, 2014

News & Notes

The Moores School of Music proudly welcomes **Dr. Andrew Davis** as our new Director effective June, 2014. Dr. Davis has taught at MSM since 2003 and served as the school's Director of Graduate Studies. Last year, Dr. Davis also served as Associate Dean for the Honors College. His research focus has been on 19thcentury classical music and early 20th-century opera. Dr. Davis's book "II Trittico, Turandot, and Puccini's Late Style" (Indiana University Press) was published in 2010 and his forthcoming book focuses on rhetoric and narrative in the 19th-century sonata, especially in the music of Brahms. He has prsented nationally and internationally on the works of Brahms, Chopin, Liszt, Puccini, Strauss and Gershwin.

We also wish to welcome our new faculty members: **Courtney Crappell**, Associate Professor of Piano and Piano Pedagogy; **Raymond Harvey**, Music Director, Moores Opera Center; **Robert Atherholt**, Visiting Professor in Oboe; **Jonathan Fischer**, Affiliate Artist in Oboe; **Adam Dinitz**, Affiliate Artist in Oboe/ English Horn; **Micah Wilkinson**, Affiliate Artist in Trumpet; **Cora Bigwood** and **Anna Langley**, Music Education Lecturers; and, **Megan Woller**, Musicology Lecturer.

Charles Hausmann will be passing the baton to **Betsy Cook Weber** who will now lead the Houston Symphony Chorus. Hausmann led the chorus for 28 years where he conducted more than 150 choral works. He will be given the title of Director Emeritus of the chorus. Weber will be returning to the chorus after serving as its Assistant/Associate Director in the 1990s.

The Moores School of Music students and alums were a major presence at the Texas Choral Directors Association Convention (TCDA) at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio, Texas on July 27 – 30, 2014. Founded in 1955, TCDA is a community and network of choral directors from all over the state of Texas. Membership reflects choral activities within the divisions of Elementary; Middle School/Junior High; High School; College/Community; and Church.

Betsy Cook Weber exclaimed, "(I am) So incredibly proud of UH students and alums who starred at this year's TCDA convention." UH alums and students were visible with **Jennifer Hemmick Gallagher** (BM '08) as VP of the TCDA Middle School division and in charge of that large segment of the TCDA convention. Clinicians: Adrian O. Rodriguez (BM '11), Melissa Hall Smith (BM '03), Brian Smith (BM '03), Gershom Garcia (BM '88), Tescille Riser (MM) Accompanists: Amy Solberg (MM '05), Katie Johnson (MM'13), Stefanie McKinney Stephens (BM'06) Conductor: Chris Fiorini (BM '07) Student Conductor: Saleel Menon Division Assistants: Beth Chrisman, Emily Premont TCDA Undergraduate Scholarship Recipient: Katie Hunt and recipient of "Young Director of Distinction:" Briana Kruse (BM '09)

Kenneth Broberg (studio of Madison Professor of Music, **Nancy Weems**) was named the Bronze Medal winner at the 25th New Orleans International Piano Competition (NOIPC), hosted by the Musical Arts Society of New Orleans at Loyola University's Roussel Hall on June 20 - 27, 2014 in New Orleans, LA. The award includes a \$5,000 prize and a solo appearance with the Louisiana Philharmonic in the 2014-2015 season.

The 25th NOIPC included 152 pianists, ranging in ages from 18 – 28, representing 26 countries from around the world. Broberg was selected to attend the competition as one of twelve semi-finalists from America, Austria, China, Taiwan, South Korea, Spain and Italy. He was the only American representative in the final round, competing with two other finalists from Spain and Austria. The mission of the New Orleans International Piano Competition is to provide opportunities for the most gifted and communicative musicians to further their careers and to offer the community an opportunity to discover the world's finest pianistic talents.

The Ikiryo Quartet (James Sterling, (soprano saxophone) Kevin Tang (alto saxophone), Xiao Liu (tenor saxophone), and Nick Tieh (baritone saxophone, from the studio of Dan Gelok) was unanimously selected as First Prize winners at the 2014 J.C. Arriaga Competition at the Treetops Chamber Music Society's Studio in Stamford, Connecticut, on April 27, 2014. In addition to the cash prize, the group will perform in a paid concert during Treetops's 2014-15 chamber music season. Out of the 25 competitors, the Ikiryo Quartet was the only saxophone quartet. No second prize was awarded. The Treetops Chamber Music Society's purpose is to educate the public about chamber music while furthering the education of young musicians.

UNIVERSITY of **HOUSTON**

MOORES SCHOOL of MUSIC

www.music.uh.edu

UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON MOORES SCHOOL OF MUSIC

Upcoming Events

SEPTEMBER

<u>Tuesday, September 9, 7:30 pm</u> **Dan Gelok**, saxophone **Woody Witt**, saxophone **Tali Morgulis**, piano Works by Hindemith with world premieres by LoCascio, Nelson, Gelok

Sunday, September 14, 2:30 pm

Lawrence Wheeler, viola Thomas Jaber, guest piano Andrea Jaber, guest mezzo-soprano Erik Wheeler, guest cello The Three B's: Works by Bach, Beethoven, Brahms

<u>Thursday, September 18, 7:30 pm</u> **UNIVERSITY BANDS David Bertman, Marc Martin**, directors March Madness: Works by Sousa, King **TDECU Stadium** (MOH, if inclement weather)

Tuesday, September 23, 7:30 pm MOORES OPERA CENTER Buck Ross, producer/director What's Opera, Duck?

"Celebrate the start of the Moores Opera Center's new season at the famed Mucky Duck with an informal cabaret evening of favorite arias and musical theatre songs, wryly hosted by director Buck Ross. Leave the stuffed shirt at home. It's a party!" **McGonigel's Mucky Duck** 2425 Norfolk Tickets/Info: www.mcgonigels.com All proceeds benefit the Moores Opera Center.

Saturday, September 27, 2:30 pm Guest Recital h2/4 Duo Jeffrey Loeffert, Jonathan Nichol, guest saxophones Works by Read Thomas, Mellits, Itoh, Rossé, Cockcroft Dudley Recital Hall Saturday, September 27, 4 pm Guest Master Class h2/4 Duo Jeffrey Loeffert, Jonathan Nichol, guest saxophones Choral Recital Hall

Sunday, September 28, 2:30 pm A.I. Lack Series Guest Recital Gayle Martin, guest piano Works by Schumann/Liszt, Shatin, Prokofiev, Schubert Dudley Recital Hall

Monday, September 29, 7:30 pm AURA CONTEMPORARY ENSEMBLE Rob Smith, director Michelle Perrin Blair, assistant director Dan Gelok, alto saxophone Michael Horvit, Professor Emeritus/composer Phillip Elder, guest composer Synthesis: Works by Elder, Horvit, Joyce, Lash





ww.music.uh.edu

University of Houston 120 School of Music Bldg Houston, TX 77204-4017

Phone: (713) 743-3009 Fax: (713) 743-3166