Skip to main content

Nationally Competitive Scholarships

What are Nationally Competitive Scholarships?

Nationally competitive scholarships are awards that are available to high achieving students throughout the U.S. They are academically competitive, and are often geared toward students who plan to pursue advanced degrees, and who are making a difference in their field. The Office of Undergraduate Research is available to assist students applying for these awards.

The awards listed on the left are nationally competitive scholarships that require university nomination. Review the eligibility requirements and contact the Office of Undergraduate Research, or the UH representative listed, for more information on the awards. Be sure to also refer to our scholarship calendar for specific deadlines—many of these scholarships have internal deadlines for UH candidates as well as national deadlines.

Awards that Require
University Nomination: 

Awards that Do Not Require
University Nomination: 
Rhodes Scholarship  Soros Fellowship              
Marshall Scholarship  NSF Graduate Research Fellowship
George J. Mitchell Scholarship  NDSEG
Gates Cambridge Scholarship  Pickering Foreign Affairs Graduate Fellowship
Boren  Charles B. Rangel Graduate Fellowship
Barry Goldwater Scholarship  James Madison Graduate Fellowships
Harry S. Truman Scholarship  Critical Language Scholarship Program
Udall Undergraduate Scholarship  Hertz Foundation Graduate Fellowships
Fulbright  Carnegie Endowment Junior Fellows
Phi Kappa Phi  Glamour Magazine Top 10 College Women
 Chevening Scholarship (for Non-U.S. Citizens)
 Donald M. Payne International Development Program
 AIF Clinton Fellowship for Service in India
 Humanity in Action Fellowships
 Ford Foundation Fellowship Program


If you have any questions, or would like more information on these awards please contact Dr. Jennifer Asmussen at the Office of Undergraduate Research.