Faculty and Staff

Alphabetically | By Department | Faculty (login)

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | WXYZ |

Name Contact Area
No image available Atherholt, Robert
Visiting Faculty in Oboe
MSM 176 Woodwinds
Alan Austin Austin, Alan
General and Artistic Director, Immanuel & Helen Olshan Texas Music Festival
tmf@uh.edu
(713)743-3167
MSM 136
Administration
James Austin Austin, James
Professor Emeritus of Music
Trumpet
jaustin4@uh.edu
MSM 335
Brass
Return to top

B

No image available Barker, Correan
Development Assistant
crbarker2@uh.edu
(713)743-3168
MSM 120J
Staff
Mark Barton Barton, Mark
Instructional Faculty -Tuba
mbarton@uh.edu
(713)743-3186
MSM 142
 Brass
 Robert Bates

Bates, Robert
Professor of Organ

rbates@uh.edu
(713)743-3193
MSM 166
 Keyboard
 No image available Bays-Purtill, Jill
Director of Public Relations
lbays-purtill@uh.edu
(713)743-3307
MSM 120Q
Administration
 John Benzer Benzer, John
Lecturer in Music Education
JBenzer@uh.edu
(713)743-3324
MSM 138
Music Education
 Paul A. Bertagnolli Bertagnolli, Paul  (on leave)
Associate Professor of Musicology
Area Coordinator, Musicology
pbertagnolli@uh.edu
(713)743-3144
MSM 217
Musicology
 No image available Bertman, David
Associate Professor of Music
Director of Bands, Cheer and Dance
Director of Advancement
dbertman@uh.edu
(713)743-3183
MSM 174
Download CV
Instrumental Studies/Conducting/Music Education
No Picture Available

Bigwood, Cora
Lecturer

MSM 139 Music Education
No Picture Available

Broesche, Garreth
Visiting Lecturer in Music Theory

gpbroesche@uh.edu
(713)743-3177
MSM 208
Theory
 Wayne Brooks Brooks, Wayne
Affiliate Artist in Viola
wabrooks@uh.edu
MSM 201
Strings
 No image available Burton, Jason
Assistant Theater Manager
jburton@uh.edu
(713)743-3431
MSM 167
Administration
Return to top

C

 Cynthia Clayton Clayton, Cynthia
Associate Professor of Voice
cynthiaclayton@uh.edu
(713)743-3304
MSM 309
Voice/Opera
 No image available Cooper, Patricia
Director of Development
parogers@uh.edu
(713)743-1304
MSM 120J
Administration
Courtney Crappell Crappell, Courtney
Associate Professor of Piano & Piano Pedagogy
ccrappell@uh.edu
(713)743-6118
MSM 231
Piano/Piano Pedagogy
Return to top

D

 Andrew Davis Davis, Andrew
Margaret M. Alkek and Margaret Alkek Williams Endowed Chair,
Director of the Moores School of Music,
Associate Professor of Music Theory
adavis@uh.edu
(713)743-3294
MSM 120H
Theory/Administration
No image available Dinitz, Adam
Affiliate Artist in Oboe/English Horn
MSM 176 Woodwinds
 Matthew Dirst Dirst, Matthew
Professor of Musicology
mdirst@uh.edu
(713)743-3150
MSM 215
Musicology
 Aralee Dorough Dorough, Aralee
Affiliate Artist in Flute

adorough@uh.edu
MSM 353

Woodwinds
 No image available Durrani, Aaminah
Music Theory and Musicology
adurrani@uh.edu
(713)743-0752
MSM 152
Theory
Return to top

E

 Joseph Evans Evans, Joseph
Professor of Voice
Area Coordinator, Voice Studies
Jsevans@uh.edu
(713)743-3149
MSM 301
Voice/Opera
Return to top

F

None Fischer, Jonathan
Affiliate Artist in Oboe
MSM 176 Woodwinds
 Joel Fulgham Fulgham, Joel
Affiliate Artist in Percussion
jfulgham@uh.edu
MSM 268
Percussion
Return to top

G

 Dan Gelok Gelok, Dan
Instructional Faculty in Saxophone
dcgelok@uh.edu 
(713)743-3322
MSM 337
Woodwinds
 Andrezj Grabiec Grabiec, Andrzej
Professor of Violin
agrabiec@uh.edu
(713)743-3152
MSM 207
Strings
 Randall Griffin Griffin, Randall
Affiliate Artist in Clarinet
rgriffin8@uh.edu
(713)743-3287
MSM 325
Woodwinds
 Thom Guthrie Guthrie, Thom
Designer and House Manager, Moores Opera Center
tguthrie@uh.edu
(713)743-3305
MSM 106
Administration
Return to top

H

 No pic available Hansen, Erin
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music Education
emhansen@uh.edu
(713) 743-4908
MSM 132
Music Education
Sarah Hardin Hardin, Sarah
Office Assistant
sjhardin@uh.edu
(713) 743-3291
MSM 120 
Staff
Raymond Harvey Harvey, Raymond
Clinical Associate Professor
rcharvey2@uh.edu
(713)743-1797
MSM 315
Opera
 Charles Hausmann Hausmann, Charles
Professor of Choral Studies
chausmann@uh.edu  
(713)743-3160
MSM 154
Choral Studies/Conducting/Music Education
 Timothy Hester Hester, Timothy
Professor of Piano
Director of Keyboard Collaborative Arts
thester@uh.edu
(713)743-3309
MSM 227
Keyboard
 No image available Horvit, Michael (Emeritus)
Composition
mhorvit@uh.edu
(281)484-1236
Composition
Frank Huang Huang, Frank
Affiliate Artist in Violin
fxhuang@uh.edu
MSM 205
Strings
Mark Hughes

Hughes, Mark
Affiliate Artist in Trumpet

mahughes2@uh.edu
MSM 335
Brass
No image available Humphries, Terri
Music Education
thhumphries@uh.edu
(713)743-1685
MSM 139
Music Education
Return to top

J

Robert Johnson Johnson, Robert
Affiliate Artist in French Horn
rjohnson3@uh.edu
MSM 341
Brass
Timothy Jones Jones, Timothy
Associate Professor of Voice
tjones24@uh.edu
(713)743-3179
MSM 307
Voice/Opera
Return to top

K

Julie Derges Kastner Kastner, Julie Derges
Assistant Professor of Music Education
Music Education Area Coordinator
jdkastner@uh.edu
(713)743-4547
MSM 130
Music Education
 No image available Kauk, Brian
Affiliate Artist in Trombone
bkauk@uh.edu
(713)743-3334
MSM 345
Brass
 Jennifer Keeney Keeney, Jennifer
Affiliate Artist in Flute
jskeeney@uh.edu
MSM 353
Woodwinds
 No image available Klingensmith, David
Affiliate Artist in Jazz Bass
dklingensmith@uh.edu
MSM 211
Jazz
 Timothy Koozin Koozin, Timothy
Professor of Music Theory
Area Coordinator, Music Theory
tkoozin@uh.edu
(713)743-3318
MSM 148
Theory
 Franz Anton Krager Krager, Franz
Professor of Conducting
Director of Orchestral Studies
fak@uh.edu
(713)743-3189
MSM 178
Conducting
Return to top

L

 No image available Lack, Fredell (Emeritus)
Violin
(281)367-3327 Strings
 Lynn Lamkin Lamkin, Lynn
Associate Director
llamkin@uh.edu
(713)743-3171
MSM 120K
Administration
 Barbara Rose Lange Lange, Barbara Rose
Associate Professor of Ethnomusicology
rlange@uh.edu
(713)743-3315
MSM 219
Musicology
Anna Langley Langley, Anna
Lecturer
MSM 139 Music Education
Suzanne LeFevre LeFevre, Suzanne
Affiliate Artist in Viola
slefevre@uh.edu
MSM 205
Strings
 No image available Lerner, Jeffrey (Emeritus)
Clarinet
jlerner2@uh.edu
(713)468-4449
Woodwinds
Return to top

M

Melissa McCrimmon McCrimmon, Melissa
Associate Director, Texas Music Festival
mfmccrimmon@uh.edu
(713)743-7274
MSM 134
Administration
No image available McGregor, Laura
Lecturer

Sugarland Campus

Music Education
Lynda McKnight McKnight, Lynda Keith
Affiliate Artist in Voice

lkmcknight@uh.edu
(713)743-3874
MSM 305

Voice
 Noe Marmolejo Marmolejo, Noe
Associate Professor of Jazz
Director of Jazz Studies
nmarmolejo@uh.edu
(713)743-3191
MSM 146
Jazz
 Marcus Karl Maroney Maroney, Marcus Karl
Associate Professor of Composition
mkmaroney@uh.edu  
(713)743-9477
MSM 321
Composition
Marc Martin Martin, Marc
Visiting Assistant Professor
Interim Director of Athletic Bands
mcmartin@uh.edu
(713) 743-3190
MSM 172
Bands
Robert Mayes Mayes, Robert
Associate Professor of Music Education
rbmayes@uh.edu
(713)743-3176
MSM 140
Music Education
Stacia Morgan Morgan Dunn, Stacia
Admissions and Scholarship Coordinator
slmorgan@uh.edu
(713)743-5934
MSM 120M
Administration
Ilan Morgenstern Morgenstern, Ilan
Affiliate Artist in Bass Trombone
 imorgenstern@uh.edu
(713)743-3009
MSM 174
Brass
Tali Morgulis Morgulis, Tali
Associate Professor of Piano
tmorgulis@uh.edu
(713)743-3180
MSM 237
Keyboard
Jeb Mueller Mueller, Jeb
Associate Director of Choral Studies
jmueller2@uh.edu
(713)743-3319
MSM 158
Choral Studies/Music Education
Return to top

N

 Robert Nelson Nelson, Robert (Emeritus)
Professor Emeritus of Composition and Music Theory
Theory
Return to top

O

 Sigurd Melvær Øgaard

Øgaard, Sigurd
Affiliate Artist in Organ

smoegaard@uh.edu 
(713)743-3309

Keyboard
Ana Maria Otamendi

Otamendi, Ana Maria
Visiting Assistant Professor

aotamend@central.uh.edu
(713) 743-0210
MSM 329

Voice/Opera
Return to top

P

Paula Page Page, Paula
Affiliate Artist in Harp
ppage@uh.edu
MSM 252
Strings
 Howard Pollack Pollack, Howard
John and Rebecca Moores Professor of Musicology
hpollack@uh.edu
(713)743-3165
MSM 223
Musicology
 No image available Ponche, Ken
Piano Technician
kponche@uh.edu
(713)743-3226
MSM 149
Staff
Return to top

R

 Gavin Reed Reed, Gavin
Affiliate Artist in French Horn
greed3@uh.edu
MSM 174
Brass
 No image available Richardson, Ric
IT Support
alaric@uh.edu
(713)743-2850
MSM 120F
Staff
 No image available Risinger, Carol
Band Office Coordinator
crisinger@uh.edu
(713)743-3175
MSM 164
Staff
 Buck Ross Ross, Buck
Edythe Bates Old Professor of Music
Director, Moores Opera Center
bross@uh.edu
(713)743-3162
MSM 184
Voice/Opera
 No image available Rowell, Chester
Affiliate Artist in Clarinet
cdrowell@uh.edu
MSM 331
Woodwinds
Peggy Russell Russell, Peggy
Affiliate Artist in Flute
prussell@uh.edu
(713)743-3009
MSM 331
Woodwinds
Return to top

S

 Vagram Saradjian Saradjian, Vagram
Professor of Cello
cello@uh.edu
(713)743-3155
MSM 209
Strings
No image available Sheikh, Omar
Administrative Coordinator
otsheikh@uh.edu
(713)743-3146
MSM 120L
Staff
 No image available Shepard, Elizabeth
Department Business Administrator
eashepar@central.uh.edu
(713)743-5121
MSM 120L
Administration
 Abbey Simon Simon, Abbey
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor of Music
(713)743-3145
MSM 229
Keyboard
 Rob Smith Smith, Rob
Associate Professor of Composition
Area Coordinator, Composition Studies
Director, AURA Contemporary Ensemble
RobSmith@uh.edu
(713)743-3163
MSM 327
Composition
 John Snyder Snyder, John
Professor of Music Theory
jlsnyder@uh.edu
(713)743-3143
MSM 150
Theory
 Melanie Sonnenberg Sonnenberg, Melanie
Associate Professor of Vocal Studies
msonnenberg@uh.edu
(713)743-9963
MSM 311
Voice/Opera
 No image available Spinks, Cara
Dir. Preparatory and Continuing Studies
crspinks@uh.edu
(713)743-3303
MSM 204
Administration
 Jeffrey S. Sposato Sposato, Jeffrey
Associate Professor of Musicology
Director of Graduate Studies
jssposato@uh.edu
(713)743-5697
MSM 221
Musicology
 Melissa Suhr Suhr, Melissa
Affiliate Artist in Flute
mdsuhr@uh.edu
MSM 205
Woodwinds
 Brian Suits Suits, Brian
Visiting Associate Professor
bjsuits2@uh.edu
MSM 235
Keyboard
Return to top

T

No image available Tomfohrde, Ruth (Emeritus)
Piano
(713)464-6668 Keyboard
No image available Turner, Katherine
Visiting Assistant Professor

klturner5@uh.edu
(713)743-3009
MSM 217

Musicology
Return to top

V

Hector Vasquez Vasquez, Hector
Affiliate Artist in Voice
hectorvasquez@uh.edu
(713)743-3157
MSM 305
Voice/Opera
 No image available Vassallo, Jim
Affiliate Artist in Trumpet
jvassallo@uh.edu
(713)743-3332
MSM 341
Brass
No image available Vinson, Dan
Affiliate Artist in Euphonium
dsvinson@uh.edu
MSM 201
Brass
Return to top

WXYZ

 No image available Wagner, Elise
Affiliate Artist in Bassoon
elwagner@uh.edu
(713)743-3328
MSM 351
Woodwinds
No image available Warren, Alec
Affiliate Artist in Percussion
pawarren@uh.edu
(713)743-3192
MSM 180
Percussion
No pic available Washington, Shaterica
Music Office Coordinator
sawashington@uh.edu
(713)743-3169
MSM 120L
Staff
 Betsy Weber Weber, Betsy
Professor of Choral Studies
Director of Choral Studies
bweber@uh.edu
(713)743-3194
MSM 156
Choral Studies/Conducting/Music Education
 Nancy Weems Weems, Nancy
Madison Endowed Professor of Piano
Piano Area Coordinator
nweems@uh.edu
(713)743-3182
MSM 233
Keyboard
No Photo Available Welch, Chapman
Lecturer in Music Technology
cwelch@uh.edu
(713)743-3009
Music Technology
No image available

West, Marion
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music

mswest@uh.edu
(713)743-9298
MSM 168
Band
 Lawrence Wheeler Wheeler, Lawrence
Associate Professor
lwheeler3@uh.edu
(713)743-3148
MSM 168
Music Appreciation & Fundamentals
Mike Wheeler Wheeler, Michael
Affiliate Artist in Guitar
mwheeler4@uh.edu
MSM 176
Jazz
David Ashley White White, David Ashley (on leave)
Professor of Composition and Music Theory
dwhite@uh.edu
(713)743-3170
MSM 141
Theory/Composition
 Dennis Whitakker Whittaker, Dennis
Affiliate Artist in Double Bass
dwhittaker@uh.edu
(713)743-3379
MSM 211
Strings
 Blake M. Wilkins Wilkins, Blake
Professor of Percussion
Director of Percussion Studies
Director of Undergraduate Studies
bwilkins@uh.edu
(713)743-3192
MSM 186
Percussion
No image available Wilkinson, Micah
Affiliate Artist in Trumpet
MSM 174 Brass
 Woody Witt Witt, Woody
Affiliate Artist in Jazz Saxophone
wwitt@uh.edu
(713)743-3277
MSM 180
Jazz
No image available Woller, Megan
Lecturer
MSM 206 Musicology
Kirsten Yon Yon, Kirsten
Associate Professor of Violin
kayon@uh.edu
(713)743-3154
MSM 203
Strings
 Carrie Young Young, Carrie
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
cyoung11@uh.edu
(713)743-3172
MSM 120N
Administration
Return to top