Skip to main content

PhD Job Candidates 2017-2018

Placement Director

Bent Sorensen
Graduate Director
(713) 743-3841
besorensen@uh.edu

Placement Coordinator
Amber Pozo
Graduate Program Administrator
(713) 743-3805
apozo@uh.edu

Name

Fields / 
Job Market Paper

Advisors /
References

Celine Boulenger

Arpita Chakravorty

achakravorty@uh.edu

832-941-6923

Website

CV

 

Labor Economics, Development Economics, Health Economics

"Household Responses to Old Age Pension: Evidence from India"

Elaine Liu

Aimee Chin

Bent Sorensen

Ruxandra Boul

Sakshi Jain

Sakshi Jain

sjain12@uh.edu

832-941-6937

Website

CV

Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics, Economics of Education, Health Economics

"Effects of a Conditional Cash Transfer Program Targeting Young Girls: Evidence from India"

Aimee Chin

Willa Friedman

Fan Wang

Ruxandra Boul

Sergiy Kasyanenko

Sergiy Kasyanenko

skasyanenko2@uh.edu

832-941-6069

Website

CV

 

Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Applied Time Series Analysis

 "Estimating the Natural Rate of Interest in Real Time"

David Papell

Kei-Mu Yi

German Cubas

Ruxandra Boul

Tung Thanh Nguyen

Tung Thanh Nguyen

ttnguyen209@uh.edu

832-774-5518

Website

CV

Labor Economics, Public Policy, Economics of Education

“The Long-Run Effects of Childhood Bilingual Education: Evidence from California's Proposition 227”

Aimee Chin

Chinhui Juhn

Steve Craig

Ruxandra Boul

Vinh Pham

Vinh Pham

vtpham11@uh.edu

832-830-3133

Website

CV


 

Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics

“Government Pricing of Yellow Cab after the Introduction of Uber in New York City”

Andrea Szabo

James Hess

Chris Murray

Ruxandra Boul

Gautham Udupa

Gautham Udupa

gbudupa@uh.edu

713-614-1323

Website

CV

 

 

 

International Macroeconomics, Real Business Cycles

"Multinational Firms, Trade and the Trade-Comovement Puzzle"

Kei-Mu Yi

German Cubas

Bent Sorensen

Ruxandra Boul

Max Thuy Vu

Max Thuy Vu

tnvu7@uh.edu

603-486-1003

Website

CV


 

Applied Microeconomics, Labor Economics, Public Economics, Political Economy

“The Impact of Government Programs on Individual Preferences for Redistribution: Evidence from SCHIP/Medicaid Expansion”

Aimee Chin

Gergely Ujhelyi

Chinhui Juhn

Ruxandra Boul

Sharon Xuejing Zuo

Sharon Xuejing Zuo

xzuo2@uh.edu

832-512-7073

Website

CV

 

Labor Economics, Experimental Economics, Development Economics, and Chinese Economy

"Holding up Half the Sky? Affirmative Actions, Labor Market Restructuring and Gender Inequality in Urban China, 1988-2007"

Elaine Liu

Chinhui Juhn

Andrew Zuppann

Ruxandra Boul