University Communication

The Office of University Communication seeks to maximize significant positive media coverage of the university, its people and programs by cultivating relationships with reporters and editors to improve acceptance of story ideas, facilitating media’s ability to access information and by communicating effectively about the achievements of the institution, its faculty and students, externally and internally.

Address
University of Houston
129 E. Cullen Building
Houston, TX 77204-5017
Contact Information
Fax: (713) 743-8185

Office Staff

Richard Bonnin
Executive Director of Media Relations
rbonnin@uh.edu

Phone: 713-743-8155
Cell: 281-840-9820
Biography

Shawn Lindsey
Director of Media Relations
selindsey@uh.edu
Phone: 713-743-5725
Cell: 806-535-0545
Biography

Mike Emery
Senior Media Relations Representative for UH Arts, Cynthia Woods Mitchell Center for the Arts, Schools of Art, Music, and Theatre & Dance, College of Architecture, Honors College, Creative Writing Program, Board of Regents and Faculty Senate
pemery@uh.edu
Phone: 713-743-8186
Cell: 281-794-4824
Biography

Lisa Merkl
Senior Media Relations Representative for UH Health, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, College of Pharmacy, College of Optometry, Center for Nuclear Receptors and Cell Signaling, Institute for Molecular Design, and Texas Learning and Computation Center
lkmerkl@uh.edu
Phone: 713-743-8192
Cell: 713-213-5279
Biography

Marisa Ramirez
Senior Media Relations Representative for UH Moment, College of Education, Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Center for Mexican American Studies, and Center for Public Policy
mrcannon@uh.edu
Phone: 713-743-8152
Cell: 713-295-0712
Biography

Jeannie Kever
Senior Media Relations Representative for UH Energy, Research, Cullen College of Engineering, College of Technology, Texas Center for Superconductivity, and Center for Advanced Materials
jekever@uh.edu
Phone: 713-743- 0778
Cell: 713-504-3769
Biography 

Melissa Carroll
Media Relations Representative for CLASS (except for Center for American Studies and Center for Public Policy), Graduate College of Social Work, Bauer College of Business and environmental issues
mcarroll@uh.edu

Phone: 713-743-8153
Cell: 832-489-5844
Biography

Mike Garrity
Media Relations Representative for UH Moment on KUHT, Student Success, Campus Life, General Assignments, and Multimedia Special Projects
msgarrity@uh.edu
Phone: 713-743-8888
Cell: 617-549-0158
Biography 

Francine Parker
Manager for internal Communication
fparker@uh.edu
Phone: 713-743-8193
Biography

Kristina Michel
Program Coordinator II
kmmichel@uh.edu
Phone: 713-743-4162
Biography

Eric Gerber
Executive Director/Communication
egerber@uh.edu

Phone: 713-743-8189
Cell: 281-627-2065
Biography