Skip to main content

Board of Visitors

The University of Houston’s Board of Visitors (BoV) is a leadership group of private sector opinion leaders and University advocates that serves to advance the University of Houston and improve the University’s image in Houston and throughout the region. BoV members represent a broad array of expertise, interests and connections and serve as ambassadors and strategic partners for the University.

Following are the board’s 2016-17 members:

Former Chairman and CEO, Cameron International

Cheryl D. Creuzot, CFP® (’81, J.D. ’92, L.L.M. ’99, M.B.A. ’12) –VICE CHAIR, BOARD OF VISITORS
President and CEO, Wealth Development Strategies

Hari Agrawal
Founder/President, CNA Metals, Inc.

Anna M. Babin
President and CEO, United Way of the Texas Gulf Coast

Donald Bacigalupi, Ph.D. (’83)
Founding President, Lucas Museum of Narrative Art

Robert L. Bartkowiak, Jr. (’84)
Senior Vice President, D. E. Shaw & Co., L. P.

Jeffery O. Beauchamp (’69, M.S.M.E. ’73)
Founder and Chairman, logiXite

The Honorable Nelda Luce Blair (J.D. ’82)
President, The Blair Law Firm, P.C.

J. Downey Bridgwater (’84)
President, Houston Market, Comerica Bank

John Butler, Jr.
Chairman, J. R. Butler & Co.

The Honorable John T. Cater
Director, Compass Bank

Anette T. Edens, Ph.D. (M.B.A., ’89 M.Ed., Ph.D.) – CHAIR, MEDICAL SCHOOL TASK FORCE
President/Psychologist, Cornerstone Recovery

Lily Chen Foster (M.A. ‘92)

William Granville, III
CEO & Managing Member, Granville Financial Group

Chaille Hawkins

Elvin Hayes (’85)
President, King’s Valet and Rossi, USA

Christopher A. Helms
Founder and CEO, US Shale Energy Advisors LLC

Barbara Hines

John L. King (’92)
Regional Assurance Managing Partner, Ernst & Young LLP

The Reverend William A. Lawson
Pastor Emeritus, Wheeler Avenue Baptist Church

Carl Lewis (FS)
President and CEO, Carl Lewis Entertainment Group

Glenn T. Lillie (Honorary Doctorate Degree, ‘16)
G. Terrell Ventures, Inc.

Michael C. Linn
President and CEO, MCL Ventures, LLC

President & CEO, Branwar Wine Distributing Co.

Frederick R. Lummis, II
Chairman and CEO, Platform Partners LLC.

Jugal K. Malani
President, Chem Oil Products

Jerad D. McMayon (’92)
Co-Founder and Partner, OFS Energy Fund

Laura G. Murillo, Ed. D. (’89, M.Ed. ’98, Ed.D. ’03)
President and CEO, Houston Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Judy Nyquist
Community Volunteer and Arts Patron

Marvin E. Odum, III (M.B.A. ’95)
Former President/Upstream America Director, Shell Oil Company

Richard Rawson (’72)
President, Insperity


Samuel A. Schreiber (’74)
President, Chain Bridge Bank, N.A.

Darryl A. Schroeder (’69)
CEO, Lonestar Energy Fabrication

Greg Shoemaker (’79)
VP Procurement, Hewlett Packard Company

Steve D. Stephens (’80)
President, Amegy Corporation

Dheeraj Verma
Managing Director, Quantum Energy Partners

Daryl Wilkerson (FS)
Vice President of Support Services, University of Chicago Medicine

Bruce Williamson (M.B.A. ’95)
Executive Chairman, Southcross Energy Holding

Founding Members

Fred S. Couples (FS)
President, Couples Bates Golf Design Group

John T. McNabb, II - Founding Chair

Richard "Racehorse" Haynes (J.D. ’56)
Attorney, Richard Haynes & Associates PC

Eric Hilton
Former Vice Chairman, Hilton Hotels Corporation

The Honorable William P. Hobby
37th Lieutenant Governor of Texas; Hobby Communications

Ex Officio

Robert T. Arnold
Chair, University of Houston Foundation

Judy Bozeman (’70)
President and Chairman, University of Houston College of Business Foundation

Brent Chinn (FS ’02)
Executive Member-At-Large, University of Houston Alumni Association Foundation

Fermeen Fazal (’96, B.A. ’97, J.D. ’00)
Secretary, University of Houston Alumni Association Foundation

Patty Godfrey (’89, M.B.A. ’97)
President, University of Houston Alumni Association Foundation

President, Houston Cougar Foundation

William J. Hickl, III (’86)
President-Elect, University of Houston Alumni Association Foundation

Thomas M. Kirkendall (’75, J.D. ’79)
President, University of Houston Law Foundation

Steven Nguyen, O.D. (’95, O.D. ’97)
President, University of Houston Foundation for Education and Research in Vision, Inc.

Laurie Rutherford (’86, M.B.A. ’91, M.S. ’04)
Treasurer, University of Houston Alumni Association Foundation

Stephen P. Schwarz
Chairman, Houston Public Media Foundation

Lisa Trapani Shumate
Executive Director and General Manager, Houston Public Media

Jonathan Snow
President, UH Faculty Senate

Trey Wilkinson (’92, M.B.A. ’02)
Immediate Past President, University of Houston Alumni Association Foundation

For more information on the University of Houston’s Board of Visitors email or call 713.743.4259